Winners of the 2023 National Film Awards

The National Film Awards 2023 honours the talents and achievements of figures in the Indian film industry.

Winners of the 2023 National Film Awards f

"it is a wonderful moment for all of us. I’m too happy."

The winners of the 69th National Film Awards were announced at the National Media Centre in Delhi on August 24, 2023.

Established in 1954, the prestigious awards are administered by the Government of India’s Directorate of Film Festivals.

The ceremony honoured films from 2021 due to the delay caused by the Covid-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdowns.

One of the big winners from the event was Gangubai Kathiawadi, which won five awards.

Director Sanjay Leela Bhansali said: “I’m happy for everybody who has won, my film and other films, and everybody, who has won.

“Good cinema gets acknowledged and a pat on the back from the government, and nationally and from a respectful jury, it always brings you joy.

“As far as cinema is celebrated from all over India, it is a wonderful moment for all of us. I’m too happy.”

Gangubai Kathiawadi‘s success at the National Film Awards included ‘Best Actress’ for Alia Bhatt, who played the titular role.

She jointly won the award alongside Kriti Sanon, who was recognised for her performance in Mimi.

Both actresses congratulated each other on Instagram.

Kriti wrote: “Congratulations Aliaaaa! So so well deserved! I’ve always admired your work and I’m too excited that I got to share this huge moment with you!

“Yayyyiiee! Biggg hug! Let’s celebrate!”

Meanwhile, Alia said: “Kriti… I remember messaging you the day I saw Mimi… it was such an honest and powerful performance… I cried and cried… so so well deserved… shine on you star.

“The world is your oyster @kritisanon.”

Pankaj Tripathi won ‘Best Supporting Actor’ for his role in Mimi and in a statement, he paid tribute to his father who recently passed away.

Explaining that it is a period of “loss and grieving” for him, Pankaj said:

“This National Award I dedicate to him and his spirit. I’m who I am today because of him.

“I’m in loss of words due to this time but I’m happy and grateful to the team.

“Kriti Sanon also has won the Best Actress, so a huge congratulations to her.”

SS Rajamouli’s global sensation RRR won six awards while Vivek Agnihotri’s The Kashmir Files also bagged two honours.

Expressing his gratitude, Vivek said he is currently in the United States and woke up to the news.

He added:

“I dedicate the award to all victims of terrorism, on behalf of the team of I Am Buddha (his production house).”

“The film is the pain and voice of all the victims of terrorism, and therefore the award belongs to them.”

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Mishing Film
Boomba Ride

Best Assamese Film

Best Bengali Film

Best Hindi Film
Sardar Udham

Best Kannada Film
777 Charlie

Best Gujarati Film
Chello Show

Best Maithili Film

Best Marathi Film
Ekda Kay Zala

Best Malayalam Film

Best Tamil Film
Kadaisi Vivasayi

Best Telugu Film

Best Meiteilon Film
Eikhoigi Yum

Best Odiya Film

Special Jury Award

Best Child Artist
Bhavin Rabari – Chhello Show

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director
Vishnu Mohan – Meppadiyan

Best Film on Social Issues
Anunaad – The Resonance

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation

Best Children’s Film
Gandhi and Co

Best Screenplay (Original)
Shahi Kabir – Nayattu

Best Screenplay (Adapted)
Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha – Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Dialogue Writer
Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia – Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Music Director (Songs)
Devi Sri Prasad – Pushpa: The Rise

Best Music Direction (Background Music)
MM Keeravaani – RRR

Best Male Playback Singer
Kaala Bhairava – RRR

Best Female Playback Singer
Shreya Ghoshal – Iravin Nizhal

Best Lyrics
Chandrabose – Dham Dham Dham (Konda Polam)

Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist)
Arun Asok & Sonu KP – Chavittu

Best Audiography (Sound Designer)
Aneesh Basu – Jhilli

Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track)
Sinoy Joseph – Sardar Udham

Best Editing
Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Choreography
Prem Rakshith – RRR

Best Cinematography
Avik Mukhopadhyay – Sardar Udham

Best Costume Designer
Veera Kapur Ee – Sardar Udham

Best Special Effects
Srinivas Mohan – RRR

Best Production Design
Dmitrii Malich & Mansi Dhruv Mehta – Sardar Udham

Best Make-up
Preetisheel Singh – Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Stunt Choreography
King Soloman – RRR

Best Director
Nikhil Mahajan – Godavari

Best Actor
Allu Arjun – Pushpa: The Rise

Best Actress
Alia Bhatt – Gangubai Kathiawadi
Kriti Sanon – Mimi

Best Supporting Actor
Pankaj Tripathi – Mimi

Best Supporting Actress
Pallavi Joshi – The Kashmir Files

Best Film on National Integration
The Kashmir Files

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment

Best Feature Film
Rocketry: The Nambi Effect

Special Mention
Baale Bangara (Aniruddha Jatkar)
Karuvarai (Srikanth Deva)
The Healing Touch (Sweta Kumar Das)
Ek Duaa (Ram Kamal Mukherjee)

Best Narration/Voiceover
Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee

Best Music Direction
Ishaan Divecha – Succulent

Best Editing
Abhro Banerjee – If Memory Serves Me Right

Best Production Sound Recordist (Location/Sync Sound)
Suruchi Sharma – Meen Raag

Best Audiography (Re-recordist)
Unni Krishnan – Ek Tha Gaon

Best Cinematography
Bittu Rawat – Paatal

Best Direction
Bakul Matiyani – Smile Please

Best Film On Family Values
Chand Saanse

Best Short Fiction Film
Daal Bhat

Special Jury

Best Animation Film

Best Investigative Film
Looking For Challan

Best Exploration Film

Best Educational Film
Sirpigalin Sirpangal

Best Film On Social Issues
Mithu Di
Three Two One

Best Environmental Film
Munnam Valavu

Best Promotional Film
Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’

Best Science and Technology Film
Ethos Of Darkness

Best Arts Film
TN Krishnan Bow Strings To Divine

Best Book on Cinema
Rajiv Vijayakar – Music by Laxmikant Pyarelal: The Incredibly Melodious Journey

Best Film Critic
Purushothama Charyulu

Best Film Critic (Special Mention)
Subramanya Bandoor

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2023 National Film Awards.

Dhiren is a journalism graduate with a passion for gaming, watching films and sports. He also enjoys cooking from time to time. His motto is to “Live life one day at a time.”

  • What's New



  • Polls

    Which music of AR Rahman's do you prefer?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...