Winners of the 62nd National Film Awards

The winners of the 62nd National Film Awards were announced on March 24, 2015. Queen and Haider won big with Kangana Ranaut picking up the gong for Best Actress. DESIblitz has the full list of winners.

Queen National Film Awards

"I couldn't have asked for anything more than this."

Celebrating the incredible industry of cinema across India and its surroundings, the 62nd National Film Awards were announced in a special conference on Tuesday 24th March, 2015.

Chairpersons, Bharathiraja and Kamal Swaroop of the National Award Jury presented their results to Arun Jaitley.

Unsurprisingly, Kangana Ranaut won the award for ‘Best Actress’ for her film, Queen. Queen also won ‘Best Hindi Film’.

Priyanka Chopra was also up for the Best Actress trophy, but lost out to Kangana. She later tweeted:

But all was not lost for Priyanka as Mary Kom was also awarded ‘Best Popular Film’, while Diljit Dosanjh’s Punjab 1984 took ‘Best Punjabi Film’.

Vishal Bhardwaj’s Haider, which stars Shahid Kapoor, was also a big winner with five awards, taking ‘Best Male Playback Singer’ for ‘Bismil’ by Sukhwinder Singh; ‘Best Choreography’; ‘Best Costume Design’; ‘Best Dialogue’; and ‘Best Music Direction’.

Chaitanya Tamhanes Court 1Sukhwinder was reportedly delighted with the award, saying: “It’s an amazing feeling. Vishal Bhardwaj is a fabulous person and a good musician.

“‘Bismil’ deserves this appreciation and Gulzar has put in a beautiful soul in the track with his words.

“Singing for this song was an absolute pleasure. I am extremely happy that I got a National Award for this song and this film.”

Shahid sadly lost out to the ‘Best Actor’ award to Kannada actor, Vijay. The actor won the award for playing a transgender in Nanu Avanalla Avalu (I Am Not A He, But She). The talented actor said:

“I put in a lot of effort to understand and portray the role of a transgender, which is an unnatural phenomena to me because I am a straight man.”

‘Best Feature Film’ was awarded to Court. Director, Chaitanya Tamhane was shocked by the news saying: “I didn’t know National Award was getting announced today. It came as a big surprise for me and my entire team. I couldn’t have asked for anything more than this.”

Here is the full list of winners of the 62nd National Film Awards:


Best Feature Film:
“Court” (Marathi, Hindi, Gujarati & English)

Best Actor:
Vijay, “Nanu Avanalla Avalu” (Kannada)

Best Actress:
Kangana Ranaut, “Queen” (Hindi)

Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director:
“Asha Jaoar Majhe” (Bengali)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment:
“Mary Kom” (Hindi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation:
“Ottaal” (Malayalam)

Best Film On Social Issues:
“Chotoder Chobi” (Bengali)

Best Direction:
Srijit Mukherji, “Chotushkone” (Bengali)

Best Supporting Actor:
Bobby Simhaa, “Jigarthanda” (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actress:
Baljinder Kaur, “Pagdi The Honour” (Haryanavi)

Best Child Artist:
J Vignesh & Ramesh; “Kaakkaa Muttai”(Tamil)

Best Cinematography:
Sudeep Chatterjee, “Chotushkone” (Bengali)

Best Editing:
Vivek Harshan, “Jigarthanda” (Tamil)

Best Male Playback Singer:
Sukhwinder Singh “Haider” (Hindi) (Song: “Bismil”)

Best Female Playback Singer:
Uttara Unnikrishanan, “Saivam” (Tamil) (Song: “Azhagu”)

Best Lyrics:
Na. Muthukumar, “Saivam”(Song: “Azhagu” – Tamil)

Best Music Direction:
Vishal Bharadwaj, “Haider” (Hindi)

Best Background Score:
Gopi Sunder, “1983” (Malayalam)

Best Screenplay Writer (Original):
Srijit Mukherji, “Chotushkone”, (Bengali)

Best Screenplay Writer (Adapted):
Joshy Mangalath, “Ottal” (Malayalam)

Best Dialogues:
Vishal Bhardwaj, “Haider” (Hindi)

Best Location Sound Recordist:
Mahaveer Sabbanwal, “Khwada” (Marathi)

Best Sound Designer:
Anish John, “Asha Jaoar Majhe” (Bengali)

Best Re-recordist of the final mixed track:
Anirban Sengupta & Dipankar Chaki, “Nirbashito” (Bengali)

Best Production Design:
Aparna Raina, “Nachom – IA Kumpasar” (Konkani)

Best Choreography:
Sudhesh Adhana, “Haider” (Hindi)

Best Costume Designer:
Dolly Ahluwalia, “Haider” (Hindi)

Best Make-Up Artist:
Nangaraju & Raju; “Nanu Avanalla Avalu” (Kannada)

Special Jury Award:
Khwada (Marathi), Director: Bhaurao Karhade

Best Hindi Film:

Best Assamese Film:

Best Bengali Film:

Best Malayalam Film:

Best Marathi Film:

Best Odiya Film:
“Aadim Vichar”

Best Punjabi Film:
“Punjab 1984”

Best Tamil Film:
“Kuttram Kadithal”

Best Telugu Film:
“Chandamama Kathalu”

Best Rabha Film:

Best Haryanvi Film:
“Pagdi The Honour”

Special Mention:
Musthafa – “Ain” (Malayalam), Palomi Ghosh – “Nachom – IA Kumpasar” (Konkani) Parth Bhalerao – “Killa” (Marathi) & “Bhootnath Returns” (Hindi)


Best Non Feature Film:
“Tender is the Sight”

Best Debut Film Of A Director:
Goonga Pahalwan

Best Anthropological/ Ethnographic Film:
“Qissa – e – Parsi: The Parsi Story”

Best Biographical/ Historical Reconstruction:
“Aamaar Katha: Story of Binodini”

Best Arts /Cultural Film:

Best Promotional Film (to cover tourism, exports, crafts, industry etc):
“Documentation of Clay Image Makers of Kumartuli”

Best Environment Film Including Agriculture:
“I Cannot Give You My Forest”

Best Animation Film:
“Sound of Joy”

Best Investigative Film:
“Phum Shang”

Adventure Film Life Force:
“India’s Western Ghats”

Best Educational Film:
“Komal” & “Behind the Glass Wall”

Best Children’s Film:
“Kaakkaa Muttai” (Tamil) & “Elizabeth Ekadashi” (Marathi)

Special Jury Award:
“A Poet, A City & A Footballer”

Best Short Fiction Film:

Best Film On Family Values:
“Towards the Silver Lining”

Best Direction:
Renu Savant, “Aaranyak”

Best Cinematography:
Indraneel Lahiri, “Aamaar Katha: Story of Binodini”

Best Audiography:
Anindit Roy, Ateesh Chattopadhyay, & Ayan Bhattacharya, “Tender is the Sight”

Best Editing:
Andi Campbell Waite, “Tigress Blood”

Best Narration/Voice Over:
Ambooty Devi, “Nitya Kalyani – Oru Mohiniyattam Patham”

Special Mention:
“Gunjaa”; “Seek and Hide”; “5 O’Clock Accident”

Best Writing on Cinema:
Pride of Tamil Cinema (Special Mention) G Dhananjayan

Best Writing on Cinema Silent Cinema:
(1895-1930) Pasupuleti Purnachandra Rao

Best Film Critic:
Tanul Thakur

Winners will reportedly receive their awards in New Delhi on May 3rd, 2015 from President Pranab Mukherjee. Congratulations to all of the winners!

Nazhat is an ambitious 'Desi' woman with interests in news and lifestyle. As a writer with a determined journalistic flair, she firmly believes in the motto "an investment in knowledge pays the best interest," by Benjamin Franklin.

What's New



  • Polls

    Who is your favourite F1 Driver of the day?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...