National Film Awards 2022 Winners List

The National Film Awards 2022 honours the talents and achievements of figures in the Indian film industry.

National Film Awards 2022 Winners List f

"Congratulations to all the other winners."

The winners of the 68th National Film Awards were announced in New Delhi on July 22, 2022.

Established in 1954, the prestigious awards are administered by the Government of India’s Directorate of Film Festivals.

Due to delays caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, the ceremony honoured films from 2020 across several categories.

A 10-member jury led by filmmaker Vipul Shah met Information and Broadcasting minister Anurag Thakur and submitted its report on the 68th National Film Awards.

Speaking about the awards, Anurag Thakur said:

“I want to congratulate all the jury members and all those people whose work was reviewed and would like to congratulate those recipients who will be awarded with the National Film Awards.

“A word of appreciation for everyone who has done an outstanding job.

“I am glad that this year we will be holding the 68 National Film Awards since we could not hold the awards for two years because of Covid.”

Among the big winners were Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn.

Ajay won his third National Film Award for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior, sharing ‘Best Actor’ with Suriya for his performance in Soorarai Pottru.

Reacting to the award win, Ajay said: “I thank everyone, most of all my creative team, the audience and my fans.

“I also express my gratitude to my parents and the Almighty for their blessings. Congratulations to all the other winners.”

Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior also won the popular film award. The actor continued:

“As the producer of Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior, it gives me immense joy to receive an honour at the 68th National Film Awards for the best film that has provided wholesome entertainment.

Tanhaji was exactly that. It is a good story of friendship, loyalty, family values and sacrifice.

“It has strong national sentiments, super VFX and a holistic approach in entertainment.

“I must share the honour with my director Om Raut, my co-producers, T-Series and my co-actors.”

“Most of all, I thank my creative team who has contributed handsomely to making this a blockbuster and now a National Award winner.”

The National Film Awards honours films from across different film industries in India. Other winners included Aparna Balamurali and Biju Menon.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Feature Film
Soorarai Pottru

Best Director
Sachy – Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment
Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actor
Suriya – Soorarai Pottru
Ajay Devgn – Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actress
Aparna Balamurali – Soorarai Pottru

Best Supporting Actor
Biju Menon – Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Supporting Actress
Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli – Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Screenplay
Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara – Soorarai Pottru

Best Screenplay (Dialogue Writer)
Madonne Ashwin – Mandela

Best Music Direction (Songs)
Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo – Thaman S

Best Music Direction (Background Music)
Soorarai Pottru – GV Prakash

Best Male Playback Singer
Rahul Deshpande – Mi Vasantrao

Best Female Playback Singer
Nanchamma – Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Lyrics

Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist)
Jobin Jayan – Dollu

Best Audiography (Sound Designer)
Anmol Bhave – Mi Vasantrao

Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track)
Vishnu Govind and Sree Sankar – Malik

Best Choreography
Sandhya Raju – Natyam

Best Cinematography
Supratim Bhol – Avijatrik

Best Costume Design
Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla – Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Production Design
Anees Nadodi – Kappela

Best Editing
Sreekar Prasad – Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Makeup
TV Rambabu – Natyam

Best Stunt Choreography
Rajasekhar, Mafia Sasi and Supreme Sunder – Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Special Mention
Aimee Baruah – Semkhor
Vaanku, June, Kishore Kadam – Avwanchhit & Godakaath
Varun Buddhadev – Toolsidas Junior

Best Hindi Film
Toolsidas Junior

Best Kannada Film

Best Malayalam Film
Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Tamil Film
Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Telugu Film
Colour Photo

Best Haryani Film
Dada Lakhmi

Best Dimasa Film

Best Tulu Film

Best Marathi Film
Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Bengali Film

Best Assamese Film
The Bridge

Best Child Artist
Anish Mangesh Gosavi – Tak-Tak

Best Children’s Film

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation

Best Film on Social Issues

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director

Dhiren is a journalism graduate with a passion for gaming, watching films and sports. He also enjoys cooking from time to time. His motto is to “Live life one day at a time.”

What's New



  • Polls

    Would you 'Live Together' with Someone before Marrying?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...