Winners of The Education Awards 2017

The first Education Awards 2017 took place at the prestigious Edgbaston Cricket Stadium on 7th July 2017. Find out all the winners here.

Education Awards

‘Most Innovative Teacher of the Year’ was given to Sally Alexander of Kimichi School

The Edgbaston Cricket Stadium opened its doors for the inaugural Education Awards on 7th July 2017.

Celebrating achievements in the field of education, the awards welcomed a fantastic gathering of educators and professionals to the prestigious sports venue.

Hosted by comedian Patrick Monahan and Raaj Shamji, the evening mixed a great three-course meal and wonderful entertainment.

Local schools, including Alston Primary School and Leigh Perry Music School, stunned guests with choir and classical music performances, while keynote speakers spoke of the vital importance of education.

Education Awards

In particular, special guest Andy Street, West Midlands Mayor, spoke passionately about the importance of education and how proper schooling can ensure a successful future for young generations.

Street also highlighted the essential role that teachers and staff members play in ensuring that students have all the support they need to do well.

Chief Executive at Greater Birmingham Chambers of Commerce, Paul Faulkner, another keynote speaker, shared the Mayor’s sentiments.

Recognising institutions and individuals across all sectors of education, 16 Education Awards were delivered in total.

Aston University and the University of Birmingham received several awards each. Aston for ‘Educational Supporter of the Year’ and ‘Outstanding Support for Students’, and UOB for ‘Outstanding International School’ and for ‘University of the Year’.

Education Awards

‘Teacher of the Year’ was awarded to Peterbrook Schoolteacher Marc Rowe, while ‘Most Innovative Teacher of the Year’ was given to Sally Alexander of Kimichi School.

A ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award was also given to David Prescott of Cambridge Assessment, for his outstanding contribution to education.

Here is the full list of winners of the Education Awards 2017:

Educational Supporter of the Year
Aston University

Headteacher / Principal Dean of the Year
Lowell Williams – Dudley College

Teacher / Lecturer of the Year
Marc Rowe – Peterbrook School

Transforming Lives Through Partnerships
Chris Meah – School of Code

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative
Envision UK

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
Standing Ovation – Anthony Daulphin

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
Sally Alexander – Kimichi School

Outstanding Support for Students
Aston University – Learner Enhancement Team

Outstanding Primary School
Hockley Heath Academy

Outstanding International School
University of Birmingham

Most Innovative Contribution to Business – Education Collaboration
David Chapman – Aston University Engineering Academy

Entrepreneurial Education Establishment of the Year
Peter Jones Enterprise Academy – Dudley College

Further Education College of the Year
Open Study College

Proactive Educational Provider of an Apprenticeship Programme
Creative Alliance

University of the Year
University of Birmingham

Lifetime Achievement
David Prescott – Cambridge Assessment

Overall, the Education Awards 2017 was an inspiring evening celebrating the unsung heroes in education.

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Nazhat is an ambitious 'Desi' woman with interests in news and lifestyle. As a writer with a determined journalistic flair, she firmly believes in the motto "an investment in knowledge pays the best interest," by Benjamin Franklin.

Images courtesy of Silver Fox Pictures and Education Awards

What's New



  • Polls

    Do you like Miss Pooja because of her

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...