Nominees for 2010 IIFA Awards

The nominees have been announced for the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 at the Videocon IIFA Weekend in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Paa, Love Aaj Kal and 3 Idiots lead the tally for the popular category nominations.

The IIFA Awards is the biggest South Asian media event

After a successful year for Indian cinema with stellar performances at the box office, the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) has announced the nominees for the IIFA Awards 2010. The 11th celebrations of the Videocon IIFA Weekend and Micromax IIFA Awards will be held in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo from June 3rd – 5th, 2010.

The popular categories of the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 include Best Film, Best Direction, Performance in a Leading Role – Male & Female, Performance in a Supporting Role – Male & Female, Performance in a Comic Role, Performance in a Negative Role, Music Direction, Best Story, Best Lyrics and Best Playback Singer.

The nominations were released as a result of the industry voting for the Micromax IIFA Awards in March. Results of the industry voting were audited by PriceWaterhouse Coopers, the auditing firm for the IIFAs and the Oscars. The online voting for the Awards will go live on as of the 10th of May, 2010 and will be open to audiences of Indian Cinema, across the world. The voting will end on the 1st of June, 2010. The results of the online voting would determine the winners of the popular category, which would be announced on stage at the Micromax IIFA Awards presentation ceremony in Colombo at the multi-purpose, Sughathadasa Stadium.

Reflecting the successes of the Indian Film Industry from the year gone by, 3 Idiots, Wanted, Kaminey, Paa and Dev D are vying for the title of Best Picture, while the Best Direction category nominations comprise, Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots), Anurag Kashyap (Dev D), Ayan Mukherji (Wake Up Sid), Vishal Bharadwaj (Kaminey), Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal) and R. Balki (Paa).

The actors nominated this year for Performance in a Leading Role – Male are Aamir Khan for 3 Idiots, Amitabh Bachchan for Paa, Saif Ali Khan for Love Aaj Kal, Salman Khan for Wanted, Shahid Kapoor for Kaminey and Ranbir Kapoor for Wake Up Sid. The winner for Performance in a Leading Role – Female will be chosen between Kareena Kapoor (3 Idiots), Priyanka Chopra (Kaminey), Deepika Padukone (Love Aaj Kal), Vidya Balan (Paa) and Mahie Gill (Dev D).

Amitabh Bachchan said at the inauguration of the 2010 IIFA’s,

“The Indian film industry has its own history and its own values. And its been made up through the contribution of some huge stalwarts and geniuses and we cannot diminish that.”

He added, “They have all contributed to what Indian cinema is today. Yes I am part of this fraternity and I feel very privileged that I am asked to represent it in some manner.”

Commenting on the nominations for IIFA 2010, Sabbas Joseph, Director, Wizcraft said, “Colombo, Sri Lanka marks the second decade of IIFA, with the best of Indian cinema being showcased. The nominees for the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 are a compilation of the best work from the previous year and the suspense and celebration of these worthy nominations will undoubtedly create another magical IIFA.”

As always, the IIFA Weekend, Sri Lanka will be a culmination of mega events that brings Indian cinema to the world. The IIFA Weekend includes the high-profile FICCI IIFA Global Business Forum, the IIFA Foundation Fashion Extravaganza, the IIFA Foundation Celebrity Cricket Match, World premieres of Indian films, IIFA Film Workshop and the climax of the Weekend, the spectacular IIFA Awards. The IIFA Awards is the biggest South Asian media event and is considered among the most-watched annual global events.

The events of the VIDEOCON IIFA Weekend are expected to boost tourism in the host region of Colombo, Sri Lanka and attract extra visitors from all over the world. More than 500 luminaries from the Indian film industry will travel to the region for this spectacular event. The event will be broadcast globally by STAR TV to reach nearly 500 million viewers in 110 countries.

The Nominees for the IIFA 2010 Nominations are:

Best Film
Vidu Vinod Chopra- 3 Idiots
Boney Kapoor – Wanted
Anurag Kashyap & Ronnie Screwvala – Dev D
Vishal Bharadwaj & Ronnie Screwvala – Kaminey
Sunil Manchanda & AB Corp -PAA

Best Direction
Rajkumar Hirani – 3 Idiots
Anurag Kashyap – Dev D
Ayan Mukerji – Wake Up Sid
Vishal Bharadwaj – Kaminey
Imtiaz Ali – Love Aaj Kal
R.Balki – Paa

Performance in a Leading Role – Male
Aamir Khan – 3 Idiots
Amitabh Bachchan – Paa
Saif Ali Khan – Love Aaj Kal
Salman Khan – Wanted
Shahid Kapoor – Kaminey
Ranbir Kapoor -Wake Up Sid

Performance in a Leading Role – Female
Kareena Kapoor – 3 Idiots
Priyanka Chopra – Kaminey
Deepika Padukone -Love Aaj Kal
Vidya Balan – Paa
Mahie Gill – Dev D

Performance in Supporting Role- Male
Sharman Joshi – 3 Idiots
Irrfan – New York
R. Madhavan – 3 Idiots
Abhimanyu Singh – Gulal
Abhishek Bachchan – Paa
Rishi Kapoor – Love Aaj Kal

Performance in Supporting Role- Female
Kalki Koechlin – Dev D
Arundhati Naag – Paa
Divya Dutta – Delhi 6
Supriya Pathak – Wake Up Sid
Kirron Kher – Kurrban

Performance in a Comic Role
Omi Vaidya – 3 Idiots
Ajay Devgn – All The Best
Johny Lever – De Dana Dan
Govinda – Life Partner
Sanjay Dutt – All The Best

Performance in a Negative Role
Boman Irani – 3 Idiots
Amol Gupte – Kaminey
Prakash Raj – Wanted
Kay Kay Menon – Gulal
Arya Babbar – Jail

Music Direction
Shantanu Moitra – 3 Idiots
A.R.Rehman – Delhi 6
Pritam – Love Aaj Kal
Amit Trivedi – Dev D
Vishal Bharadwaj – Kaminey

Best Story
Abhijat Joshi,Raj Kumar Hirani & Vidu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots
Ayan Mukherji – Wake Up Sid
Anurag Kashyap & Vikramaditya Motwane – Dev D
Imtiaz Ali – Love Aaj Kal
R.Balki – Paa

Best Lyrics
Swanand Kirkire – 3 Idiots
Prasoon Joshi – Delhi 6
Irshad Kamil – Love Aaj Kal
Gulzar – Kaminey
Amitabh Bhattacharya – Dev D

Playback Singer – Male
Shaan – Behti Hawa Sa Tha Who (3 Idiots)
Mohit Chauhan – Masakali (Delhi 6)
Sonu Nigam – All Izz Well (3 Idiots)
Atif Aslam – Tu Jaane Na ( Ajab Prem Ki Gajab Kahani)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – Aaj Din Chadiya (Love Aaj Kal)
Sukhvinder Singh & Vishal Dadlani – Dan Te Nan (Kaminey)

Playback Singer- Female
Shreya Ghoshal – Zoobi Doobi ( 3 Idiots)
Kavita Seth – Ek Tara (Wake Up Sid)
Rekha Bharadwaj – Sasural Genda Phool ( Delhi 6)
Sunidhi Chauhan – Chor Baazari (Love Aaj Kal)
Shilpa Rao – Moodi Moodi ( PAA)
Tulsi Kumar – Hafiz Khuda (8X10 Tasveer)

Amit enjoys creative challenges and uses writing as a tool for revelation. He has major interest in news, current affairs, trends and cinema. He likes the quote: "Nothing in fine print is ever good news."