Winners of IIFA 2010 Awards

The 2010 IIFA awards event was held in Colombo, Sri Lanka with the attendance of many Bollywood stars including Anil Kapoor, Salman Khan, Saif Ali Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Bipasha Basu and many more. The night went mostly to 3 Idiots, the Aamir Khan blockbuster of 2009.

The awards night was ruled by 3 Idiots

The 11th IIFA awards event was held in Colombo, Sri Lanka on 5th June 2010. It was another star struck event with some of the big names of Bollywood present despite some of the known names missing from the attendance list of the night.

The Colombo ceremony was marred by boycott calls from the influential Tamil film industry in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu, which has close cultural and religious links with Sri Lanka’s ethnic Tamil minority. Therefore, forcing star like even the brand ambassador, Amitabh Bachchan, to not attend the IIFA 2010 event.

However, as usual Aamir Khan, the man behind the blockbuster of the IIFA awards night, was not present either because he is known for not attending award ceremonies.

On stage of the IIFA awards ceremony riveting performances from Salman Khan, Anil Kapoor, Govinda, Vivek Oberoi and Bipasha Basu entertained audiences. Boman Irani, one of the hosts, surprised the audience with his musical skills. He sang ‘Give me some sunshine’ from 3 Idiots and also played guitar to loud cheers from Anil Kapoor and Salman Khan as Sri Lankan children joined him in singing.

For Sri Lanka, Sri Lankan actress Jacqueline Fernandez, who made her Bollywood debut with Aladin, was declared Star Plus Debut of the Year for the female category.

The awards night was ruled by 3 Idiots, winning the categories Best Film,  Best Director, Performance in a Leading Role (Female), Performance in Supporting Role (male), Performance in Negative Role, Dubut of Year (male), Best Story, Best Lyrics, Best Playback Singer and many Technical awards.

The winners of the 2010 IIFA Awards are:

Best Film
Vidu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots

Best Direction
Rajkumar Hirani – 3 Idiots

Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan – Paa

Performance in a Leading Role  (Female)
Kareena Kapoor – 3 Idiots and Vidya Balan – Paa

Performance in Supporting Role (Male)
Sharman Joshi – 3 Idiots

Performance in Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta – Delhi 6

Performance in a Comic Role
Sanjay Dutt – All The Best

Performance in a Negative Role
Boman Irani – 3 Idiots

Debut of the Year (Male)
Omi Vaidya – 3 Idiots and Jackie Bhagnani – Kal Kissne Dekha

Debut of the Year (Female)
Jacqueline Fernandez – Aladin and Mahie Gill – Dev D

Music Direction
Pritam – Love Aaj Kal

Best Story
Abhijat Joshi,Raj Kumar Hirani & Vidu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots

Best Lyrics
Swanand Kirkire – 3 Idiots

Playback Singer  (Male)
Shaan – Behti Hawa Sa Tha Who (3 Idiots)

Playback Singer (Female)
Kavita Seth – Ek Tara (Wake Up Sid)

Outstanding Achievement by an Indian Internationally
Anil Kapoor

IIFA Green Global Award
Vivek Oberoi

Techincal IIFA Awards

Best Screenplay
Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra (3 Idiots)

Best Cinematography
C.K. Muraleedharan (3 Idiots)

Best Dialogue
Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijat Joshi (3 Idiots)

Best Background Score
Sanjay Wandrekar, Atul Raninga, Shantanu Moitra (3 Idiots)

Best Editing
Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Nihal Ranjan Samel (3 Idiots)

Best Song Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Sachi K Sanghvi (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Re-recording
Anup Dev (3 Idiots)

Best Choreography

Bosco Martis, Caesar Gonsalves (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Costume Designing
Anahita Shroff Adajania, Dolly Ahluwalia (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril (Aladin)

Best Special Effects (Visual)
Charles Darby – Eyecube Labs (Aladin)

Best Action
Shyam Kaushal (Kaminey)

Best Make up Artist
Christien Tinsley, Domini Till (Paa)

Besides the awards ceremony, the IIFA weekend was jam packed with activity. With fashion, sport and business also taking the IIFA platform during the course of the weekend.

On day one of the Colombo event the style quotient was high at the IIFA Fashion Extravaganza 2010. Stars like Salman Khan, Sanjay Dutt, Malaika Arora Khan, Kunal Kapoor, Anupam Kher and Bipasha Basu walked the ramp for India and Sri Lanka’s leading designers. The first night of the Weekend, which was hosted by Viveik Oberoi and Dia Mirza was a glitzy event, with Indian and Sri Lankan fashion designers showcasing their collections. Indian designers featured were Manish Malhotra and Vikram Phadnis, while the Sri Lankan designers were Yoland and Kanchana (KT Brown).

Friday 4th June saw the charity cricket match named ‘Cricket for Change’ take place at the Sinhalese Sports Club, to raise funds for the welfare of children affected by war. There were two celebrity teams, including Hrithik XI captained by Hrithik Roshan and Suneil XI led by Suneil Shetty. Sri Lanka captain Kumara Sangakkara was in charge of the Sri Lankan opposition to the celebrities team, and won the match overall. Sangakkara’s XI team beat the celebrity team first in a 10 over match and then in an 8 over match.

The DESIblitz media team were at the IIFA 2010 awards event and we bring you exclusive photos.

Amit enjoys creative challenges and uses writing as a tool for revelation. He has major interest in news, current affairs, trends and cinema. He likes the quote: "Nothing in fine print is ever good news."

Photos by Arosha Dayan Amarasekara and Sohan Charith De Mel (Sri Lanka) exclusively for Copyright © 2010 DESIblitz.

Special thanks to Surenie De Mel, hip hop and pop star from Sri Lanka for her support. Thanks to Wizcraft.

  • What's New



  • Polls

    How often do you Exercise?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...