Filmfare Awards 2016 Nominees

The beginning of the new year means one thing. It’s awards season and the Filmfare Awards are upon us. Find out who’s been nominated for 2016.

Filmfare Awards 2016 Nominees

Bajirao Mastani looks to sweep the floor with eight nominations

Mumbai will enjoy a starry night with the Filmfare Awards 2016, and hosts for this year are a new comedy duo – Shahrukh Khan and Kapil Sharma!

The King of Bollywood teams up with the King of Comedy to give guests and fans an unforgettable evening of hilarious Bollywood entertainment.

Although reports have surfaced that Salman might be taking SRK’s place as co-host, we are sure to be in for a treat either way.

Filmfare Awards 2016 Nominees

Nominations show an interesting bag for 2016. Celebrating the very best of 2015, Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Bajirao Mastani looks to sweep the floor with eight nominations.

These include ‘Best Film’, ‘Best Director’, ‘Best Actor’ for Ranveer Singh, ‘Best Actress’ for Deepika Padukone, and ‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’ for Priyanka Chopra.

The epic drama and historical love story does face competition from Badlapur directed by Sriram Raghavan. The crime drama is nominated for 6 awards.

Filmfare Awards 2016 Nominees

Here is the full list of nominees for the Filmfare Awards 2016:

Best Film
Bajirao Mastani
Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Director
Aanand L Rai – Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Kabir Khan – Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Meghna Gulzar – Talvar
Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Bajirao Mastani
Shoojit Sircar – Piku
Sriram Raghavan – Badlapur

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan – Piku
Ranbir Kapoor – Tamasha
Ranveer Singh – Bajirao Mastani
Salman Khan – Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Shah Rukh Khan – Dilwale
Varun Dhawan – Badlapur

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female)
Anushka Sharma – NH10
Deepika Padukone – Bajirao Mastani
Deepika Padukone – Piku
Kajol – Dilwale
Kangana Ranaut – Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Sonam Kapoor – Dolly Ki Doli

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Anil Kapoor – Dil Dhadakne Do
Deepak Dobriyal – Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Jimmy Sheirgill – Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Nawazuddin Siddiqui – Badlapur
Sanjay Mishra – Masaan

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Anushka Sharma – Dil Dhadakne Do
Huma Qureshi – Badlapur
Priyanka Chopra – Bajirao Mastani
Shefali Shah – Dil Dhadakne Do
Tabu – Drishyam
Tanvi Azmi – Bajirao Mastani

Best Music
Ankit Tiwari, Meet Bros. Anjjan and Amaal Mallik – Roy
Anupam Roy – Piku
AR Rahman – Tamasha
Pritam – Dilwale
Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Bajirao Mastani
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – Dil Dhadakne Do

Best Lyrics
Amitabh Bhattacharya – ‘Gerua’ (Dilwale)
Anvita Dutt – ‘Gulabo’ (Shaandaar)
Gulzar – ‘Zinda’ (Talvar)
Irshad Kamil – ‘Agar Tum Saath Ho’ (Tamasha)
Kumaar – ‘Sooraj Dooba’ (Roy)
Varun Grover – ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’ (Dum Laga Ke Haisha)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Ankit Tiwari – ‘Tu Hai Ke Nahi’ (Roy)
Arijit Singh – ‘Gerua’ (Dilwale)
Arijit Singh – ‘Sooraj Dooba’ (Roy)
Atif Aslam – ‘Jeena Jeena’ (Badlapur)
Papon – ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’ (Dum Laga Ke Haisha)
Vishal Dadlani – ‘Gulabo’ (Shaandaar)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Alka Yagnik – ‘Agar Tum Saath Ho’ (Tamasha)
Anusha Mani – ‘Gulabo’ (Shaandaar)
Monali Thakur – ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’ (Dum Laga Ke Haisha)
Palak Mucchal – ‘Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo’ (Prem Ratan Dhan Payo)
Priya Saraiya – ‘Sunn Sathiya’ (ABCD 2)
Shreya Ghoshal – ‘Deewani Mastani’ (Bajirao Mastani)

The Filmfare Awards promises to be a glitzy night of stars and celebration. Good luck to all of the winners!

Aisha is an editor and a creative writer. Her passions include music, theatre, art and reading. Her motto is “Life is too short, so eat dessert first!”

What's New



  • Polls

    Which of these are you?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...