Winners of 2014 Star Guild Awards

The 9th Star Guild Awards 2014 was a truly glitzy night, with Salman Khan hosting for a second time. Find out who won what in the glamorous evening celebrating the best of Indian cinema.

Star Guild Awards

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag swept the board, taking Best Film, Best Story and Best Screenplay.

The Star Guild Awards 2014 saw the glitz and glamour of B-town gather together to celebrate the biggest film hits of 2013.

Held at the NSCI stadium in Worli, Mumbai, this was the 9th Annual Star Guild Awards.

Hosted for a second time by Salman Khan, celebs came out in full force showing their support and appreciation of each other for the world to see.

In a pleasantly surprising and unexpected turn, Salman and Shahrukh Khan have seemed to put their differences behind them.

Star Guild AwardSalman made the effort to single out SRK and congratulate him on the huge success of Chennai Express. Shahrukh who was sat in the audience saluted Salman with a hand gesture.

Later King Khan arrived on stage to receive the Entertainer of the Year award. In his acceptance speech, he admitted he felt special in receiving the award as Salman was one of the greatest entertainers in India.

King Khan wasn’t wrong as Salman kept the high profile Bollywood crowd laughing and cheering as he poked fun out of himself and his co-stars on stage.

It seems Salman was in an overly generous spirit (not least because his next film Jai Ho is to release on January 24). Following the SRK reconnection, he even warmly hugged Vivek Oberoi (who used to date ex Aishwarya Rai) as he came on stage to collect the Hall of Fame plaque for Grand Masti.

It was also a family affair for Salman as he awarded his own father Salim Khan the Lifetime Achievement Award. A second Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Tanuja Mukherjee.

Performances of the night were given by Kareena Kapoor Khan, Shahid Kapoor, Prabu Deva and Sonakshi Sinha.

It was not just the blockbuster hits that saw a multitude of awards. Ritesh Batra won the Yash Chopra Award for most promising director, for his critically acclaimed film, The Lunchbox.

Star Guild Awards

As expected, Deepika Padukone award took the award for Best Actress for her role in Chennai Express. She was awarded by a very cute Ranveer Singh who got down on his knees to present it to her.

Farhan Akhtar took the Best Actor trophy for his powerful performance in Bhaag Milkha Bhaag. The movie which honoured the life of Indian runner and national treasure, Milkha Singh swept the board, taking Best Film, Best Story and Best Screenplay.

The Hall of Fame Awards were handed out to the most exceptional films of 2013 including Chennai Express, Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-leela, Race 2, Grand Masti and Aashiqui 2.

Here is the full list of winners of the 9th Star Guild Awards 2014:

Best Film
Viacom18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Actor In A Leading Role
Farhan Akhtar – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Actress In A Leading Role
Deepika Padukone – Chennai Express

Best Actor In A Supporting Role
Nawazuddin Siddiqui – The Lunchbox

Best Actress In A Supporting Role
Divya Dutta – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Most Promising Debut – Male
Sushant Singh Rajput – Kai Po Che!

Most Promising Debut – Female
Vaani Kapoor – Shuddh Desi Romance

Best Screenplay
Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Story
Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Dialogue
Hussain Dalal – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Best Choreography
Remo D’Souza – Badtameez Dil & Balam Pichkari (Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani)

Best Lyrics
Mithoon – Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)

Best Music
Pritam – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Best Playback Singer – Male
Arijit Singh – Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)

Best Playback Singer – Female
Bhoomi Trivedi – Ram Chahe Leela (Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-leela)

Best Performance in a Comic Role
Arshad Warsi – Jolly LLB

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Supriya Pathak – Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-leela

Yash Chopra Award For The Most Promising Debut – Director
Ritesh Batra – The Lunchbox

Entertainer Award For The Year
Shahrukh Khan

Jodi Of the Year
Aditya Roy Kapur and Shraddha Kapoor

Hall of Fame Award
Chennai Express, Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-leela, Race 2, Grand Masti, Aashiqui 2

Best Special Effects
Red Chillies for Krrish 3

Lifetime Achievement Award
Salman Khan and Manoj Kumar give it to Salim Khan

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tanuja Mukherjee

Best Costume Design
Maxima Basu & Anju Modi for Ram Leela

Best Sound Mixing
Biswadeep Chatterjee for Madras Cafe

Best Cinematography
Binod Pradhan in Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Editing
Chandrashekhar Prajapati for Madras Cafe

Best Art Direction
Wasir Khan for Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-leela

Despite all the huge blockbuster hits of 2013 that have each of them broken the mould for the creativity of Indian cinema, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag was a deserving winner of the night and Farhan Akhtar should be very proud of his extraordinary achievement. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Aisha an English literature graduate, is a keen editorial writer. She adores reading, theatre, and anything arts related. She is a creative soul and is always reinventing herself. Her motto is: “Life is too short, so eat dessert first!”