57th Filmfare Awards 2012 Winners

The 57th Filmfare awards ceremony took place in Mumbai and the night proved to be a surprise with Zindage Na Milegi Dobara being one of the top winning films of the night and Ranbir Kapoor beating Shahrukh Khan, Salman Khan and Amitabh Bachchan for Best Actor.

Sunday 29th January 2012, Film City at the Yasraj Studios, in Mumbai, India was the setting for the 57th Filmfare awards.

Hosted by Bollywood actors Shahrukh Khan and Ranbir Kapoor, the awards ceremony featured a Filmfare milestone when the 2500th ‘Black Lady’ was given out in a special ceremony marking the awards’ enduring popularity for nearly 60 years. The milestone award went to AR Rahman as Best Music Director for Rockstar.

All the glamour and excitement took place with star studded acts and stars all at this prestigious annual event with the show aired on Sony Entertainment Television (SET).

It was a big night for Zindagi Na Milege Dobara which starred Hrithik Roshan, Katrina Kaif, Abhay Deol, Farhan Akhtar and Naseeruddin Shah. This film won Best Film, Best Director for Zoya Akhtar, Best Actor in Supporting Role for Farhan Akhtar, Best Cinematography, Best Dialogue and Best Choreography.

Rockstar was the other big winner on the glitzy awards night, winning Best Actor for Ranbir Kapoor, Critics Award for Best Actor for Ranbir Kapoor, Best Lyrics, Best Male Playback Singer (Mohit Chauhan) and Best Music Director (AR Rahman).

Surprisingly, this year Shahrukh Khan did not win anything despite having hit films like Ra.One and Don 2 in 2011. Salman Khan was not seen in any of the winning awards either.

Here is a list of the winners of the 57th Filmfare Awards:

Best Film
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

Best Director
Zoya Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Ranbir Kapoor (Rockstar)

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Vidya Balan (The Dirty Picture)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Farhan Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Rani Mukherjee (No One Killed Jessica)

Best Debut (Female)
Parineeti Chopra (Ladies vs Ricky Bahl)

Best Debut (Male)
Vidyut Jhamwal (Force)

Best Debut Director
Abhinay Deo (Delhi Belly)

Critics Award for Best Actress
Priyanka Chopra (7 Khoon Maaf)

Critics Award for Best Actor
Ranbir Kapoor (Rockstar)

Critics Award for Best Film
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

Best Scene of the Year
The Dirty Picture

Best Lyrics
Irshad Kamil – Nadaan Parindey (Rockstar)

Best Music Composer
AR Rahman (Rockstar)

R.D. Burman Music Award
Krsna (Tanu Weds Manu)

Best Male Playback Singer
Mohit Chauhan for Jo Bhi Main (Rockstar)

Best Female Playback Singer
Usha Uttap & Rekha Bhardwaj for ‘Darling’ (7 Khoon Maaf)

Lifetime Achievement
Aruna Irani

56th Filmfare Technical Awards

Best Costume Design
Niharika Khan (The Dirty Picture)

Best Choreography
Bosco-Caesar – Senorita (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Dialogue
Farhan Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Screenplay
Akshat Verma (Delhi Belly)

Best Story
Sanjay Chauhan (I Am Kalam)

Best Background Score
Ranjit Barot (Shaitan)

Best Cinematography
Carlos Catalan (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Action
Matthias Barsch (Don 2)

Best VFX
Red Chillies (Ra.One)

Best Editing
Huzefa Lokhandwala (Delhi Belly)

Best Production Design
Shashank Tere (Delhi Belly)

Best Sound Design
Nakul Kamte (Don 2)

Since its launch in 1952, Filmfare Magazine has kept audiences up-to-date with the latest news and pictures from the Bollywood film scene. Over the years, it has evolved into a complete entertainment package covering Bollywood movies, star interviews, music, television series and soaps, along with the latest also from Hollywood.

Nazhat is an ambitious 'Desi' woman with interests in news and lifestyle. As a writer with a determined journalistic flair, she firmly believes in the motto "an investment in knowledge pays the best interest," by Benjamin Franklin.

What's New



  • Polls

    Which Indian Sweet do you love most?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...