• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • "Quoted"

  • Polls

    Which Smartwatch would you buy?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Winners of Times of India Film Awards 2013

    Celebration of Bollywood took place in Canada for the first ever Times of India Film Awards (TOIFA). Major names from the Bollywood film industry gathered in Vancouver BC to meet, greet and receive the winning awards.

    Times of India Film Awards 2013

    "I really owe this to Aishwarya and the love and support she has given me"

    Bollywood awards events are an increasing form of recognition for the industry. For the first time, The Times of India hosted its times of India Film Awards in Vancouver BC, Canada.

    The awards attracted attendance of many A-list names from the Bollywood fraternity. Including Shahrukh Khan, Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwaryia Rai Bachchan, Priyanka Chopra, Ranibr Kapoor, Anushka Sharma, Jimmy Shergill, Katrina Kaif, Urmila Matondkar, Bohman Irani, Chunky Pandey, Neha Dhupia and Prabhu Deva.

    Abhishek and Aishwariya at the Times of India Film Awards 2013At the event, BC’s Premier Christy Clark addressed the crowds wearing an Indian outfit and said:

    “I hope that all of you from around the world who have come here have found that you are at home in British Columbia…a province that welcomes with open arms people from all over the world.” She added: Let’s use this wonderful celebration of Indian film to continue to build more bridges of opportunity between us.

    SRK and Gauri at the Times of India Film Awards 2013Shahrukh was at the ceremony with his wife Gauri. When asked if he valued awards events, SRK said: “I like awards and I appreciate them. I feel most of the awards that we have in India, are for years of work that we have done, rather than just one show, and above all that, it is nice to see the (film) community together (at such events). We get five seven opportunities a year where everyone get together, so it’s a time to celebrate.”

    The glitzy night included performances by Abhishek and Aishwariya Rai Bachchan, Shahrukh Khan, Katrina Kaif, Priyanka Chopra, Anushka Sharma, Ranbir Kapoor, Sunidhi Chauhan, Hard Kaur and was hosted by Bohman Irani.

    The night was taken by Barfi which won seven awards bringing Ranbir Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra into the limelight, winning the Best Actor and Best Actress awards respectively. Other winners included Abhishek Bachchan as Best Actor in a Comic Role for Bol Bachan, Ajay Atul as Best Music Director for Agneepath and Dolly Ahluwalia as Best Supporting Actor – Female for Vicky Donor.

    Upon collecting his award, Abhishek said: “I would like to thank my family for firstly having me because things wouldn’t have worked without that. I really owe this to Aishwarya and the love and support she has given me. She makes me the person that I am.”

    Red Carpet stars

    Priyanka Chopra who won the the best actress category said: “This is a very special moment for me as my dad came all the way flying 30 hours to be with me. Thanks, papa.”

    Here is are the winners of the Times of India Film Awards 2013:

    Best Film

    Best Actor
    Ranbir Kapoor (Barfi)

    Best Actress
    Priyanka Chopra (Barfi)

    Best Supporting Actor – Male
    Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor)

    Best Supporting Actor – Female
    Dolly Ahluwalia (Vicky Donor)

    Best Actor in Negative Role
    Rishi Kapoor (Agneepath)

    Best Actor in a Comic Role
    Abhishek Bachchan Bol Bachchan

    Best Debut Actor – Male
    Ayushmann Khurrana (Vicky Donor)

    Best Debut Actor – Female
    Ileana D’Cruz (Barfi)

    Best Director
    Anurag Basu (Barfi)

    Best Music Director
    Ajay Atul (Agneepath)

    Best Lyricist
    Gulzar (Saans – Jab Tak Hai Jaan)

    Best Playback Singer – Male
    Sonu Nigam (Abhi Mujhme Kahi – Agneepath)

    Best Playback Singer – Female
    Shalmali Kholgade (Pareshaan – Ishaqzaade)

    Critics Awards

    Best Film
    Gangs of Wasseypur

    Best Debut Director
    Gauri Shinde (English Vinglish)

    Best Actor Female
    Deepika Padukone (Cocktail)

    Best Actor Male
    Irrfan Khan (Paan Singh Tomar)

    Technical Awards

    Best Editing
    Namrata Rao (Kahaani)

    Best Cinematography
    S Ravi Varman (Barfi)

    Best Choreography
    Ganesh Acharya (Chikni Chameli – Agneepath)

    Best Special Effects
    Kvsanjit and Rajiv Ghosh (Raaz 3)

    Best Costume Design
    Aki Narula and Shafalina (Barfi)

    Best Art Direction
    Rajat Podar (Barfi)

    Best Action
    Conrad Palmisano and Markos (Ek Tha Tiger)

    Best Background Score
    Pritam (Barfi)

    Best Sound Recording
    Anita Khushwaha (Talaash)

    Best Story
    Advaita Kala and Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)

    Best Screenplay
    Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)

    Best Dialogue
    Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Zeishan Quadri and Sachin Ladia (Gangs of Wasseypur)

    Nazhat is a woman on a mission to reveal many different aspects of 'Desiness.' With interests in fashion, cooking and keeping fit, she describes herself as a bright and chic 'Desi' lady who lives by the motto 'survival of the fittest...'


    English National Ballet Triple Bill with Bausch, Forsythe & van Manen

    English National Ballet presents an incredible triple bill with stunning pieces from William Forsythe, Hans van Manen and Pina Bausch.

    Latest Videos