• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • "Quoted"

  • Polls

    Is Oppression a problem for British Asian Women?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • The British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards 2017

    Sports personalities arrived for the British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards on 18th March 2017 to celebrate the incredible achievements of the BAME community.

    The British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards 2017

    "It really means a lot to be named as your Sportsman of the Year!"

    The 2017 British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) took place on Saturday 18th March at London’s Hilton Park Lane.

    Now in its third year, the BEDSAs celebrate the resounding success of sports men and women from all ethnic backgrounds, as well offer emerging sporting talents a platform to put themselves forward.

    The lavish evening welcomed sports personalities and their teams from all over the UK. They arrived in London, dressed up to the nines and all in good spirits.

    Hosted by presenter and comic Lenny Henry, the annual ceremony drew appearances from celebrities and high profile guest such as David Haye, Jade Jones, Jason Robinson and music stars WSTRN.

    As well as sports talent from Asian communities, including former England cricketer Isa Guha and world champion martial arts silver medallist Harleen Kaur, who was “thrilled and honoured” to be nominated for ‘Young Sportsperson of the Year’.

    The top honours of the night were taken by Sir Mo Farah and Kadeena Cox. Winning the ‘Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year’, Mo said:

    “Thank-you to the Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards and a very special thanks to everyone who’s voted for me.

    “It really means a lot to be named as your Sportsman of the Year! And congratulations to my fellow nominees as well. It’s so great to see everyone come together this evening to celebrate the incredible achievements of our diverse sporting communities.”

    British parasport athlete, Kadeena Cox took the award for ‘Sportswoman of the Year’. Having proved to be an inspiration to many, she said:

    “I’m very honoured to have won this award and would like to give a massive thanks to Sporting Equals for all the work they do in BAME communities.”

    Here is the full list of winners of the 2017 Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards:

    Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person of the Year
    Alice Tai

    British Army Unsung Hero
    Inderpal Singh Cheema

    Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year
    Spring SLR

    England Athletics Coach of the Year
    Chris Hughton

    Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities
    Al Madina Centre

    Mind Wellbeing Award
    Sonia Smith

    Tennis Foundation Special Achievement
    Shapla Sports

    FA Recognition Award
    Rashid Abba

    UK Sport Inspirational Performance
    Ruqsana Begum

    Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year
    Kadeena Cox

    Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year
    Mo Farah

    Lifetime Achievement Award
    Jason Robinson OBE

    CEO of Sporting Equals, Arun Kang later commented on the significance of the awards, saying:

    “I would like to congratulate all the winners, they thoroughly deserved their accolades.

    “Sporting Equals organise the BEDSAs as we want to celebrate diversity at both an elite and grassroots level.

    “It was heartwarming to see the delighted faces of the community groups and volunteers who give so much of their time to get communities more active as well as the elite stars who will hopefully inspire the next generation to take the baton.”

    Lycamobile chairman Allirajah Subaskaran, echoed the words made by Kang, adding:

    “Awards such as these are crucial in driving change in the sports sector by increasing participation and diversity.”

    The British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards 2017 proved to be a resounding success in strengthening the impact of ethnic diversities in sports and encouraging more people from different communities to actively participate in the profession.

    Congratulations to all the winners!

    Juggy works in advertising but his real passion lies in writing and radio presenting. He enjoys swimming, binging on American TV shows and eating tasty cuisine. His motto is: “Don't think about it happening, make it happen.”

    Images courtesy of Sporting Equals and Moeen Ali Official Twitter


    Win Tickets to see The Mummy

    Win FREE tickets to see The Mummy, starring Tom Cruise and Sofia Boutella, at Cineworld Birmingham NEC on 11th June 2017.

    Latest Videos