• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • "Quoted"

  • Polls

    Does or has someone suffered from Diabetes in your family?

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2016 Winners

    Angrej won big at the PTC Punjabi Film Awards which took place in Mohali on April 14, 2016. DESIblitz has the full list of winners.

    PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2016 Winners

    The climatic moment of the night easily went to Yo Yo Honey Singh.

    The biggest stars came together on April 14, 2016 to celebrate another amazing year of cinema at the 2016 PTC Punjabi Film Awards.

    Angrej, a critical and commercial success that rivaled Bollywood films’ overseas performance, swept up an incredible 10 awards, including Best Film and Best Director.

    The family film also helped Amberdeep Singh win Best Screenplay for two consecutive years.

    Diljit Dosanjh’s Sardaar Ji (2015), which topped many international box office charts like the US and UK, walked away with three trophies.

    PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2016 WinnersBetween acceptance speeches and celebrity mingling was an awesome lineup of performances from the likes of Chitrangada Singh and Sunidhi Chauhan.

    The climatic moment of the night easily went to Yo Yo Honey Singh, who launched his new song ‘Superman’ from upcoming film Zorawar to an ecstatic reception in the venue.

    Hosted by Amrinder Gill, Binnu Dhillon, Arjan Bajwa and Gauhar Khan, the award ceremony was once again a successful event and testament to the rising global appeal of Punjabi cinema.

    Rajiee M Shinde, Director and CEO of PTC Network, says: “Among the fastest growing language cinema in the country today, the Punjabi Cinema has achieved a predominant position in the field of Indian cinema not only in the country but also across the globe.

    “PTC Punjabi Film Awards celebrated its sixth glorious year by putting up a spectacular show attended by the who’s who of Punjabi film industry and Bollywood.”

    The legacy of late singer Labh Janjua, who passed away in October 2015, was remembered and celebrated with a special gesture, the ‘In Memory Award’.

    PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2016 WinnersHere is the full list of winners of the PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2016:

    Best Film

    Best Director
    Simerjit Singh, Angrej

    Best Actor
    Amrinder Gill, Angrej

    Best Actress
    Sargun Mehta, Angrej

    Best Supporting Actor
    BN Sharma, Judge Singh LLB

    Best Supporting Actress
    Mandy Takhar for Sardaar Ji

    Best Screenplay
    Amberdeep Singh, Angrej

    Best Story
    Amberdeep Singh, Angrej

    Best Cinematography
    Baljit Singh Deo, Faraar

    Best Editing
    Baljit Singh Deo & Rohit Dhiman, Hero Naam Yaad Rakhi

    Best Debut Male
    Ammy Virk, Angrej
    Deep Sidhu, Ramta Jogi

    Best Debut Female
    Aditi Sharma, Angrej
    Gauhar Khan, Oh Yaara Ainvayi Ainvayi Lut Gaya

    Best Performance in Comic Role
    Binnu Dhillon, Munde Kamaal De

    Best Performance in a Negative Role
    Mukul Dev, Shareek

    Best Music Director
    Jatinder Shah, Angrej

    Best Background Score
    Raju Singh, Shareek

    Best Lyricist
    Happy Raikoti for ‘Kurta’ from Angrej

    Most Popular Song of the Year
    ‘Veervaar’ by Diljit Dosanjh

    Best Playback Singer (Male)
    Manmohan Waris for ‘Parne Nu’ from Faraar

    Best Playback Singer (Female)
    Sunidhi Chauhan for ‘Sohneya Sajna’ from Hero Naam Yaad Rakhi

    Best Action
    Sham Kaushal, Shareek

    Best Dailogues
    Jatinder Lall, Sardaar Ji

    Critics Award for Best Film

    Critics Award for Best Director
    Navneet Singh, Shareek

    Critics Award for Best Actor
    Pawan Malhotra, Eh Janam Tumhare Lelche

    Critics Award for Best Actress
    Aman Grewal, Mitti Na

    Most Promising Talent
    Jaggi Singh

    Jury Award
    Gippy Grewal

    Lifetime Achievement Award
    Harjit Singh

    Special Recognition Award
    Mehor Mittal and Japtej Singh

    In Memory Award
    Late Labh Janjua

    DESIblitz congratulates all the winners and awaits more entertaining and brilliant film releases in 2016!

    Scarlett is an avid writer and pianist. Originally from Hong Kong, egg tart is her cure for homesickness. She loves music and film, enjoys travelling and watching sports. Her motto is “Take a leap, chase your dream, eat more cream.”

    Images courtesy of PTC Punjabi Facebook and Gauhar Khan Twitter


    Win Tickets for BBC Asian Network Live 2017

    Here’s your chance to win 2 tickets to see BBC Asian Network Live 2017 at Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith London on 25th February 2017! Not to be missed!

    Latest Videos