UK moves India from ‘Red’ to ‘Amber’ Travel List

Following a slight ease in travel restrictions, the UK has moved India from its ‘red’ list of travel ban countries to its ‘amber’ list.

Will the Travel Rules for India, Pakistan & Bangladesh Change f

India is one of four countries moving

In an update to the United Kingdom’s travel list, India has been moved from ‘red’ to ‘amber’.

Under the UK’s traffic light system for international travel, fully vaccinated passengers from India will no longer have to spend ten days in hotel quarantine.

However, they must still endure a ten-day quarantine at home.

The changes will take place from Sunday, August 8, 2021.

The UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps made the announcement on Wednesday, August 4, 2021.

According to Shapps, India is one of four countries moving to the amber list.

Qatar, Bahrain and the UAE are the other countries moving with India from the UK’s red list.

Following his announcement, Grant Shapps added:

“While it’s right we continue our cautious approach, it’s great news to open more destinations for people wanting to connect with families, friends and businesses across the globe, all thanks to our successful domestic vaccination programme.”

Due to its second wave of Covid-19, India has been on the UK’s red list.

This meant that Indians could not travel to the UK unless they were British or Irish nationals.

Now the UK’s travel restrictions for India are changing, so are the rules.

According to the rules for UK amber list countries, travellers must take a Covid-19 test three days before departure, and quarantine for ten days on arrival.

Due to moving from the red to amber list, travellers are able to quarantine at home, rather than a hotel.

Passengers must also book two Covid-19 tests in advance, to be taken on or before day two and on or before day eight of the ten-day quarantine period.

Travellers to the UK from India must also complete a passenger locator form.

India will be joining more than a dozen countries on the UK’s amber list, including:

  • USA
  • Canada
  • China
  • Iran
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sweden
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

However, India is the only South Asian country moving from the UK’s red list.

Other countries such as Spain and the UAE are relaxing travel restrictions for certain passengers arriving from India.

On Tuesday, August 3, 2021, the UAE announced that passengers from India will be allowed to transit through UAE airports from August 5, 2021.

This comes after they banned Indian travellers from April 25, 2021, due to the country’s ferocious second wave of Covid-19.

Following the ban, only UAE Golden Visa holders and members of the diplomatic mission could board flights from India to the UAE.

Louise is an English and Writing graduate with a passion for travel, skiing and playing the piano. She also has a personal blog which she updates regularly. Her motto is "Be the change you wish to see in the world."

  • What's New



  • Polls

    Would you consider a move to India?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...