"Absolutely pathetic way to 'win' a cricket match."
Cricketer Deepti Sharma has caused controversy with her match-winning run-out, overshadowing India’s win over England.
It was the third ODI and it was held at Lord’s.
In the 44th over, England’s women needed 17 runs from 38 balls, however, they had one wicket remaining.
Deepti Sharma was bowling and on the third ball, she noticed Charlie Dean making her move at the non-striker’s end and eventually going past the crease.
Just before bowling, Sharma suddenly stopped and ran Dean out, giving India the victory and 3-0 series win over England.
The moment resulted in the crowd booing and Dean in tears.
— The Cricketer (@TheCricketerMag) September 24, 2022
While India should have been celebrating, Sharma’s method of run-out overshadowed the moment and it has divided opinion on social media.
Although it is not against the rules, some have criticised the dismissal – known as ‘Mankading’ – as being against the spirit of cricket.
Piers Morgan was one of those who criticised Sharma. He tweeted:
“Absolutely pathetic way to ‘win’ a cricket match.
“The whole India team should be ashamed of themselves.”
England men’s bowler Stuart Broad said:
“I personally wouldn’t like to win a match like that.”
His views were echoed by wicketkeeper Sam Billings, who tweeted:
“There’s surely not a person who has played the game that thinks this is acceptable. Just not cricket.
“Well within the laws but not in the spirit. Just my opinion… the law should be changed back to a warning system or penalty runs for excessive backing up for eg.”
But others praised Deepti Sharma for her awareness while also slamming those who were against the run-out method.
Virender Sehwag said: “Funny to see so many English guys being poor losers.”
Alex Hales also opposed his teammates’ views, stating that Charlie Dean is to blame for her dismissal.
In response Sam Billings’ tweet, he said:
“It shouldn’t be difficult for the non-striker to stay in their crease til the ball has left the hand.”
Indian fans also sided with Sharma, with some taunting England by referencing a similar situation in the climactic cricket match in Lagaan.
— Abhimanyu Mathur (@MadCrazyHatter_) September 24, 2022
India’s captain Harmanpreet Kaur defended Sharma’s run-out. During her post-match press conference. she said:
“Today whatever we have done I don’t think it was any crime.
“It is part of the game and it is an ICC rule and I think we just need to back our player.”
“I’m actually very happy she was aware of that, and the batter she is taking too long a stride I think. I don’t think she has done something wrong and we just need to back her.”
Kaur had also indicated that her side had been hard done by when Sophie Ecclestone took a catch to dismiss opener Smriti Mandhana in the third match of their T20I series, which England won 2-1, that touched the ground but was deemed to have been controlled beforehand and therefore legal.
She also rejected suggestions that the incident detracted from Jhulan Goswami’s final match of an international career spanning two decades.
Kaur continued: “I don’t think so because, like I said, I don’t think we have done any crime.
“It’s part of the ICC rules, it’s called a run-out and we’ve done that.
“I don’t think we need to talk about that because the first nine wickets were also very important and everybody was working so hard.
“It was a chaseable total but the way our bowlers bowled and the whole team putting in the effort, there were a lot of things to celebrate other than just talking about the last wicket.”