The Asian Media Awards 2018 Winners

The Asian Media Awards took places on Thursday, October 25, 2018 at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate to celebrate the Asian talent within media over the UK.

The Asian Media Awards 2018 Winners f

"I believe that a platform like the Asian Media Awards is crucial."

The sixth annual Asian Media Awards (AMA) took place at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Thursday, October 25, 2018.

Journalists, presenters and media personalities from across the UK attended the prestigious event to celebrate the best British Asian talent within media.

The premier sponsors of the event were The University of Salford and partners include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training, Primesight and The Palace Theatre & Opera House.

Previous winners include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Art Malik, Nina Wadia and Anita Rani.

Naga Munchetty, Ayub Khan-Din and Faisal Islam were among those recognised for their media work at the 2018 AMAs.

East is East and Ackley Bridge creator Ayub Khan-Din took home the Sophiya Haque Services to British Television and Film Award.

He said: “I’m delighted and honoured to accept an achievement award for a body of work that I hope continues to inform and entertain and hopefully inspire other young British Asian Men and Women to do the same.”

Ayub was presented the award by Sophiya Haque’s sister, Aysha Jamieson after a wonderful introduction showcasing his influence of British films and television.

BBC Breakfast presenter Naga Munchetty was awarded the Media Personality of the Year, in her speech, she shared her journey as a broadcaster.

The Asian Media Awards 2018 Winners

Sky News Political Editor Faisal Islam was awarded the highly coveted MMU Journalist of the Year. He has broken a number of exclusive stories over the course of 2018.

The renowned Best Investigating Award went to Deeyah Khan for his report White Right: Meeting the Enemy, which explores the American far-right.

Khan said:

“I am overjoyed that my ITV documentary White Right: Meeting the Enemy has been honoured at the Asian Media Awards this year.”

“I believe that a platform like the Asian Media Awards is crucial as it continues to draw attention to the diversity of talent in the industry in order to better reflect the societies we live in.”

ITV Central News journalist Balvinder Sidhu won the Regional Journalist of the Year while Amani Khan triumphed in the Outstanding Young Journalist Category.


In TV, Dúaa Karim who rose to fame in BBC Three comedy Man Like Mobeen was named 2018 Best Newcomer.

The Asian Media Awards 2018 Winners

Former Premier League footballer Alan Shearer read the nominations from the Match of the Day studios in a pre-recorded segment, which was won by Seema Jaswal.

Sony TV put an end to Star Plus’ hold on the TV Channel of the Year Award.

Critically acclaimed BBC programme The Boy with the Topknot won the Best TV programme award.

Actor Sanjeev Bhaskar was named the Best TV Character for his role in drama Unforgotten as DI Sunny Khan.

Online publication BizAsiaLive beat the likes of BarfiCulture, EasternEye, Pukaar and The Asian Today to win the Best Publication/Website award.

The Best Video Channel Award went to Ali Official which specialises in short form content online has had over 100 million views across his Instagram and Facebook pages.

Renowned comedian Paul Chowdhry’s Live Innit tour won the Best Live Event award.

In radio, BBC Asian Network regained the Radio Station of the Year award from Sunrise Radio. They also won the Best Radio Show award for Late Night with Mobeen Azhar.

Sunrise Radio host Anushka Arora won the Radio Presenter of the Year and Kavita Kukar of Panda Radio picked up the inaugural Rising Star in Radio award.

Because 2018 will see the 100th anniversary of the ending of World War One, there was a commemoration for those who died.

Lord Gadhia is leading a campaign to honour the South Asians who died said:

“These were predominantly young men who had travelled thousands of miles by ship from their homeland to fight a distant war.”

“Some didn’t even fully appreciate the cause they were fighting for, but they did their duty and their nation proud.”

The Asian Media Awards 2018 Winners

Here is the full list of winners for the 2018 Asian Media Awards:

Media Professional of the Year

Vickram Sembhi

Media Agency of the Year


Creative Media Award

‘As British As’ Campaign

Best TV Programme/Show

The Boy with the Topknot

AMA Best Newcomer

Dúaa Karim

Best TV Character

Sanjeev Bhasker for his role as DI Sunny Khan in Unforgotten

TV Channel of the Year

Sony TV Asia

TV Report of the Year

Child Victims Rohingya, Ashish Joshi for Sky News

Best Video Channel

Ali Official

Best Live Event

Paul Chowdhry’s Live Innit

Best Stage Production

Child of the Divide

Best Radio Show

Mobeen Azhar

Rising Star in Radio Award

Kavita Kukar

Regional Radio Station of the Year

Asian Star Radio

Radio Presenter of the Year

Asian Star Radio

Radio Presenter of the Year

Anushka Arora

Radio Station of the Year

BBC Asian Network

Regional Journalist of the Year

Balvinder Sidhu, ITV Central

Outstanding Young Journalists

Amani Khan

Sports Journalist of the Year

Seema Jaswal

Best Investigation

White Right: Meeting the Enemy by Deeyah Khan

MMU Journalist of the Year

Faisal Islam

Best Publication/Website


Best Blog

Ibz Mo

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

Tommy Nagra

Media Personality of the Year 2018

Naga Munchetty

Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film 2018

Ayub Din-Khan

The Asian Media Awards highlights the importance of Asian media within the UK and the role it plays in bringing ethnic communities and the mainstream media together.

The 26 winners prove that the Asian Media Awards can only get bigger and better. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Dhiren is a journalism graduate with a passion for gaming, watching films and sports. He also enjoys cooking from time to time. His motto is to “Live life one day at a time.”

Images courtesy of Asian Media Awards

  • What's New



  • Polls

    What should India do about sex selective abortions?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...