Nominees for IIFA 2012 Awards

The nominees for the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards in 2012 have been announced. This year the three day spectacular weekend takes place in Singapore. Two films that have topped the nominations are The Dirty Picture and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara and Shahid Kapoor is the new host.

'The Dirty Picture' and 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' have the most nominations for IIFA 2012

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) nominees were announced for the 2012 IIFA Awards. This year the 13th IIFA Weekend will take place in Lion City, Singapore between 7-9th June 2012.

The Singapore showcase will have fashion shows, a musical extravaganza, and all the celebrations culminating into a glittering awards presentation ceremony.

The IIFA awards this year are presented by Videocon Industries and Wizcraft International Entertainment, and supported by the Singapore Tourism Board.

Anil Kapoor and Bipasha Basu have been ambassadors for IIFA 2012. They unveiled the venue for the show.

Anil said: “It has been my pleasure to be associated with IIFA for over a decade and once again, on behalf of IIFA and the Indian film industry, we commit to give our audience in Singapore the opportunity to witness one of the finest celebrations of culture and cinema ever held.”

Bipasha said: “It’s a great opportunity for me to be here in Singapore personally to represent Indian cinema on such a global platform. I’m sure that this year’s IIFA will be a phenomenal success.”

Bollywood actor, Shahid Kapoor is set to host his first IIFA awards event, a change from the famous duo of Boman Irani and Ritesh Deshmukh, who have been entertaining the audience for past four award ceremonies.

This year the ‘IIFA Dancing Stars’ competition is a new addition to the weekend, which is open to 18 – 25 year olds keen to show of their dancing skills, to be judged by stars including the dancer-choreographer Prabhu Deva, Bipasha Basu and Shahid Kapoor.

Director Dibakar Banerjee (LSD: Love Sex Aur Dhoka) will have his upcoming release Shanghai premiere at the IIFA event. Previous films premièred at the IIFA include ‘Lagaan,’ ‘Aankhen,’ ‘Parineeta,’ ‘Provoked,’ ‘The Train’ and ‘Yuva.’

‘The Dirty Picture’ and ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’ have the most nominations for IIFA 2012, so eyes will be on these two big hits.

Here are the nominees for the 2012 IIFA awards:

Best Film
No One Killed Jessica
The Dirty Picture
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

Best Director
Raj Kumar Gupta (No One Killed Jessica)
Rohit Shetty (Singham)
Imtiaz Ali (Rockstar)
Milan Luthria (The Dirty Picture)
Zoya Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan (Aarakshan)
Salman Khan (Bodyguard)
Shah Rukh Khan (Don 2)
Ranbir Kapoor Rockstar
Ajay Devgn (Singham)
Hrithik Roshan (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Leading Role (Female)
Priyanka Chopra (7 Khoon Maaf)
Kareena Kapoor (Bodyguard)
Mahie Gill (Saheb Biwi Aur Gangster)
Kangna Ranaut (Tanu Weds Manu)
Vidya Balan (The Dirty Picture)

Supporting Role (Male)
Abhay Deol (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
Randeep Hooda (Saheb Biwi Aur Gangster)
Naseeruddin Shah (The Dirty Picture)
Emraan Hashmi (The Dirty Picture)
Farhan Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta (Stanley Ka Dabba)
Parineeti Chopra (Ladies V/S Ricky Bahl)
Sonali Kulkarni (Singham)
Swara Bhaskar (Tanu Weds Manu)
Kalki Koechlin (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Comic Role
Paresh Rawal (Ready)
Riteish Deshmukh (Double Dhamaal)
Divyendu Sharma (Pyaar Ka Punchnama)
Pitobash (Shor In The City)
Deepak Dobriyal (Tanu Weds Manu)

Negative Role
Irrfan Khan (7 Khoon Maaf)
Boman Irani (Don 2)
Vidyut Jammwal (Force)
Prakash Raj (Singham)
Naseeruddin Shah – The Dirty Picture

Music Direction
Vishal Bhardwaj (7 Khoon Maaf)
Sohail Sen (Mere Brother Ki Dulhan)
Vishal Shekhar (Ra.One)
Shankar, Ehsaan and Loy (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
A.R. Rahman (Rockstar)

Best Story
Imtiaz Ali (Rockstar)
Amole Gupte (Stanley Ka Dabba)
Himanshu Gupta (Tanu Weds Manu)
Rajat Aroraa (The Dirty Picture)
Reema Kagti & Zoya Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Best Lyrics
Shabbir Ahmed Teri Meri (Bodyguard)
Gulzar Darling (7 Khoon Maaf)
Irshad Kamil Naadaan Parindey (Rockstar)
Javed Akhtar Khaabon Ke Parinday (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
Rajat Aroraa Ishq Sufiyana (The Dirty Picture)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Ash King I Love You (Bodyguard)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan Teri Meri (Bodyguard)
Mika Singh Subha Hone Na De (Desi Boyz)
Mohit Chauhan Naadaan Parindey (Rockstar)
Kamal Khan Ishq Sufiyana (The Dirty Picture)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Usha Uthup & Rekha Bhardwaj Darling (7 Khoon Maaf)
Shreya Ghoshal Teri Meri (Bodyguard)
Sunidhi Chauhan Te Amo (Dum Maaro Dum)
Harshdeep Kaur Katiya Karun (Rockstar)
Shreya Ghoshal Ooh La La (The Dirty Picture)

Which is the Best Film for IIFA 2012?

  • Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (39%)
  • Bodyguard (25%)
  • Rockstar (19%)
  • The Dirty Picture (13%)
  • No One Killed Jessica (4%)
Loading ... Loading ...

Different from last year, the ‘Technical’ category winners for the IIFA awards for 2012 have been already announced. With SRK’s Ra.One tipped to be a major winner of the technical awards, this did not materialise in the results, Hrithik Roshan’s Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara directed by Zoya Akhtar won five awards compared to Ra.One receiving four and Vidya Balan’s The Dirty Picture getting three.

The winners will be given their awards at the main IIFA event in Singapore.

Carlos Catalan (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Reema Kagti and Zoya Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Rajat Aroraa (The Dirty Picture)

Anand Subaya (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Production Designer
Sabu Cyril (RA.One)

Bosco-Caesar for Senorita (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Jai Singh Nijjar (Singham)

Sound Recording
Resul Pookutty and Amrit Pritam Dutta (RA.One)

Song Recording
Vishal for Chammak Challo (RA.One)

Sound Re-Recording
Anuj Mathur and Baylon Fonseca (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)

Special Effects (Visuals)
Red Chillies VFX (RA.One)

Background Score
AR Rahman (Rockstar)

Costume Design
Niharika Khan (The Dirty Picture)

Make Up
Vikram Gaikwad (The Dirty Picture)

The IIFA’s were held in Singapore in 2004, when a contingent of over 450 stars, celebrities, cricketers, industrialists and government leaders attended the weekend. So, let’s see which famous people from the Bollywood fraternity make it a star-studded event this year.


Nazhat is an ambitious 'Desi' woman with interests in news and lifestyle. As a writer with a determined journalistic flair, she firmly believes in the motto "an investment in knowledge pays the best interest," by Benjamin Franklin.

  • What's New



  • Polls

    Which is the most disappointing Bollywood film of 2017?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...