Cricket Grounds Guide ~ ICC World Cup 2015

The ICC World Cup 2015 will be played at fourteen stunning cricket grounds in Australia and New Zealand, stretching from Brisbane in Queensland to Dunedin in the often arctic like south of New Zealand. DESIblitz previews the venues.

Cricket Grounds ICC World Cup 2015

The MCG is set to host yet another final showpiece on 29th March 2015.

Fourteen spectacular cricket grounds will host forty-nine matches at the ICC World Cup, taking place in Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

Australia will stage twenty-six World Cup matches, whilst New Zealand will host twenty-three games.

The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is set to host yet another final showpiece on 29th March 2015.

Let’s take a closer look at the fourteen World Cup venues:


Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Adelaide OvalBuilt in 1873, the historic Adelaide Oval can hold 50,000 spectators. Shaped as an oval, this stadium is a favourite amongst cricket fans.

The picturesque venue will stage the day/night (D/N) clash between India and Pakistan (February 21).

Other floodlit games at this venue include: England v Bangladesh, Pakistan v Ireland (March 15) and the third quarter-final.

Gabba, Brisbane

The Gabba BrisbaneLocated in the Woolloongabba suburb, this stadium was established in 1893 and has a capacity of 42,000.

The blend of vivid sunshine and tropical thunderstorms at the Gabba are as predictable as beer and singlets in Brisbane.

Key games at this venue include: Australia v Bangladesh and Pakistan v Zimbabwe (March 01).

Manuka Oval, Canberra

Manuka Oval CanberraCanberra’s delightful Manuka Oval is located within close proximity of Parliament House.

The small stadium has been constantly upgraded over the years.

With a capacity of 13,000, this venue will host three D/N group fixtures including Afghanistan v Bangladesh, West Indies v Zimbabwe and Ireland v South Africa.

Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Bellerive Oval Hobart TasmaniaSince its construction in 1931, the Bellerive Oval has been the home of Tasmanian cricket.

The 16,200-capacity ground was upgraded in 2003 and had undergone further development in 2014.

The venue will be the scene of three D/N matches including Ireland v Zimbabwe, Scotland v Sri Lanka and Australia v Scotland.

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

MCG Melbourne Cricket Ground

Built in 1853, the Melbourne Cricket Ground has a long and very distinguished history.

The 100,000-capacity venue will stage five D/N matches including Australia v England, India v South Africa (February 22) and Sri Lanka v Bangladesh.

The second quarter-final and grand final will also be played at this ground.

Head Curator David Sandurski said:

“Generally at the MCG we try and make a wicket that’s got a bit for everyone.”

WACA, Perth

WACA PerthThe old Western Cricket Association Cricket Association (WACA) ground was established in 1893.

Cricket began at the WACA in February 1894.

With a capacity of 24,000, this ground will host three D/N group matches including India v UAE (February 28), Australia v Afghanistan and India v West Indies (March 6).

Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

SCG Sydney Cricket GroundOpened in 1848, the Sydney Cricket Ground, also known as the SCG has a capacity of 44,000.

The SCG stages five D/N encounters including South Africa v West Indies, Australia v Sri Lanka, England v South Africa, the first quarter-final and second semi-final.

For the cricket tourist, there are many things to do, from visiting the Sydney Opera House to climbing the iconic Sydney Opera Bridge.


Eden Park, Auckland

Eden Park AucklandEstablished in 1930, Eden Park has a capacity of 50,000.

Shaped as a Baseball diamond, the ground has a pleasantly soporific atmosphere.

Eden Park is to stage five D/N games including Australia v New Zealand, Pakistan v South Africa (March 29), India v Zimbabwe (March 14) and the first semi-final.

Hagley Park, Christchurch

Hagley Park ChristchurchThe 2011 earthquake that hit Christchurch caused extensive damage to Lancaster Park.

So Hagley Park’s construction makes it one of the newest of New Zealand’s major grounds.

This cricket conscious city will host three day games between New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Pakistan v West Indies (February 21) and England v Scotland.

University Oval, Dunedin

University Oval DunedinLocated in Logan Park, the University Oval has a capacity of 6,000.

Based in Dunedin, close to the southern tip of New Zealand’s South Island, it is one of the most southerly test grounds in the whole world.

Key matches allocated at this ground include: New Zealand v Scotland and Afghanistan v Sri Lanka.

Seddon Park, Hamilton

Seddon Park HamiltonSeddon Park has always been one of the most attractive cricket grounds in New Zealand.

With its greenery and grass banks, the venue is like a leafy oasis situated in the centre of a busy modern Hamilton.

The ground will host three D/N matches between South Africa v Zimbabwe, India v Ireland (March 10) and New Zealand v Bangladesh.

McLean Park, Napier

McLean Park NapierMcLean Park is located in Napier, a city renowned as the art deco capital of the world.

Like many of New Zealand’s arenas, the rugby-specific ground is rectangular in shape.

Pakistan will play UAE (March 4) in the only day-night fixture at this ground.

In the other two day games, the Kiwis will entertain Afghanistan, whilst the Emirates will face the West Indies.

Saxton Oval, Nelson

Saxton Oval NelsonEstablished in 2010, the Saxton Oval staged its first ODI in 2014. The stadium has been upgraded with a new pavilion added in 2011.

The ground is simply beautiful, with grass terraces overlooking the remarkable Barnicoat Mountain range.

Three day games will take place at this venue, including Ireland v West Indies, UAE v Zimbabwe and Bangladesh v Scotland.

Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Westpac Wellington Cake TinSituated close to Wellington Railway Station, Westpac stadium was built in 1999 and has a capacity of 35,500.

The grounds appearance resembles a Cake Tin – a nickname given to the stadium.

Matches taking place at this venue include: New Zealand v England, England v Sri Lanka, South Africa v UAE and the fourth quarter-final.

Fans visiting Australia and New Zealand for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, will not only get to witness exciting matches at these grounds, but will also have a chance to explore some of the region’s sporting history.

Faisal has creative experience in the fusion of media and communication and research which increase awareness of global issues in post-conflict, emerging and democratic societies. His life motto is: "persevere, for success is near..."

Images courtesy of AP and AFP

Share to...