• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • "Quoted"

  • Polls

    Should Kabaddi be an Olympic sport?

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Nominations for the IIFA Awards 2015

    The IIFA Awards 2015 will take place on June 7, 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. With the whole of Bollywood gearing up for filmy excitement, who are the big contenders? DESIblitz has the full list of nominations.

    IIFA 2015 Awards

    "It is amazing how Indian cinema is growing strength by strength every year."

    The nominations for the 16th IIFA Awards 2015 have been announced, and there are a few surprises in the mix.

    While Queen and Haider have taken the winning lead over the last few awards ceremonies, the IIFA’s sees young romance film, 2 States gain the highest number of nominations with 9 nods.

    Haider sees 8 nominations in total while PK follows with 6. Queen is only up for 5 nominations.

    The 13 categories recognise each aspect of cinema and filmmaking. Both Shahrukh Khan and Aamir Khan are up against each other for ‘Leading Role Male’ for their respective films Happy New Year and PK.

    IIFA 2015 AwardsThe ‘Leading Role Female’ sees the likes of Deepika Padukone, Priyanka Chopra, Rani Mukerji, Anushka Sharma, Kangana Ranaut and Alia Bhatt.

    Taking place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the IIFA awards will be another weekend of filmy gossip, live music and fashion glamour. Stars are expected to turn out in full force on the weekend of June 5-7, 2015.

    Bipasha Basu and Anil Kapoor attended the special IIFA 2015 press conference on April 9, 2015, in Malaysia ahead of the June event.

    IIFA’s is the biggest Indian media and entertainment event which sees a viewership of almost 800 million. The filmy weekend is an assortment of cine-festivals, acting and directing workshops and exhibitions, all celebrating the best of Indian cinema.

    The weekend will also celebrate the upcoming release of Zoya Akhtar’s Dil Dhadakne Do, which stars an epic celebrity cast of Anushka Sharma, Ranveer Singh, Shefali Shah, Anil Kapoor, Priyanka Chopra and Farhan Akhtar.

    IIFA 2015 AwardsThe previous year of IIFA was a celebrity extravaganza that mixed both Bollywood and Hollywood.

    Taking place in Tampa Bay, Florida, special guests Kevin Spacey and John Travolta mingled and danced away on stage with the B-town stars. Expectations for 2015 will be just as high.

    Director of Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd, Andre Timmins, says:

    “It is amazing how Indian cinema is growing strength by strength every year. It has been a spectacular year for Indian Cinema across genres of films and a multitude of talent on and off screen.

    “Some of the biggest films are contending for awards this year and the nominations reflect the talent and achievements of our Indian Film Industry.”

    With so much anticipation for this year’s IIFA Awards, we wonder who will win the award for ‘Best Picture’, ‘Leading Role Male’ and ‘Leading Role Male’. Could Shahid Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut win again? Or will 2 States be the dark horse for Haider and Queen?

    Here is the full list of nominations for the 2015 IIFA Awards:

    Best Picture
    Viacom 18 Motion Pictures, Vikramaditya Motwane & Anurag Kashyap – Queen
    Sajid Nadiadwala & Karan Johar – 2 States
    Vinod Chopra Films & Rajkumar Hirani Films – PK
    Utv Motion Pictures & Vishal Bhardwaj Pictures – Haider
    Sajid Nadiadwala & Imtiaz Ali – Highway
    Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Mary Kom

    Best Director
    Vikas Bahl – Queen
    Vishal Bhardwaj – Haider
    Rajkumar Hirani – PK
    Abhishek Varman – 2 States
    Imtiaz Ali – Highway

    Leading Role Male
    Shahid Kapoor – Haider
    Aamir Khan – PK
    Arjun Kapoor – 2 States
    Hrithik Roshan – Bang Bang
    Randeep Hooda – Highway
    Shah Rukh Khan – Happy New Year

    Leading Role Female
    Kangana Ranaut – Queen
    Alia Bhatt – 2 States
    Priyanka Chopra – Mary Kom
    Deepika Padukone – Happy New Year
    Rani Mukherji – Mardaani
    Anushka Sharma – PK

    Supporting Role Male
    Ronit Roy – 2 States
    Ritesh Deshmukh – Ek Villain
    Kay Kay Menon – Haider
    Randeep Hooda – Kick
    Inaamulhaq – Filmistaan
    Naseeruddin Shah – Finding Fanny

    Supporting Role Female
    Tabu – Haider
    Amrita Singh – 2 States
    Lisa Haydon – Queen
    Juhi Chawla – Gulaab Gang
    Huma Qureshi – Dedh Ishqiya

    Comic Role
    Sharib Hashmi – Filmistaan
    Sanjay Dutt – PK
    Varun Dhawan – Main Tera Hero
    Govinda – Happy Ending

    Negative Role
    Ritesh Deshmukh – Ek Villain
    Nawazuddin Siddiqui – Kick
    Kay Kay Menon – Haider

    Best Music Direction
    Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – 2 States
    Mithoon-Banjara, Zaroorat & Hamdard, Ankit Tiwari- Galliyan, Adnan Dhool (Soch) – Awari, Rabbi Ahmed-Awari – Ek Villain
    Vishal Bhardwaj- for the full album – Haider
    Mithoon, Yo Yo Honey Singh, Pritam, Arko Pravo Mukherjee – Yaariyan

    Best Story
    Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar, Parveez Shaikh – Queen
    Chetan Bhagat-Based On A Best Selling Novel “2 States: The Story Of My Marriage” – 2 States
    Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani – Pk

    Best Lyrics
    Manoj Muntashir – Galliyan – Ek Villain
    Rashmi Singh – Muskurane – Citylights
    Amitabh Bhattacharya – Mast Magan – 2 States

    Playback Singer Male
    Ankit Tiwari – Galliyan – Ek Villain
    Arijit Singh – Muskurane – Citylights
    Mika Singh – Jumme Ki Raat – Kick
    Sukhwinder Singh – Bismil – Haider

    Playback Singer Female
    Kanika Kapoor – Baby Doll – Ragini Mms2
    Sultana & Jyoti Nooran – Patakha Guddi – Highway
    Shreya Ghoshal – Samjhawan – Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania

    The Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend and Awards will take place between 5 and 7 June 2015, at the Stadium Putra in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Good luck to all the nominees!

    Aisha an English literature graduate, is a keen editorial writer. She adores reading, theatre, and anything arts related. She is a creative soul and is always reinventing herself. Her motto is: “Life is too short, so eat dessert first!”


    English National Ballet Triple Bill with Bausch, Forsythe & van Manen

    English National Ballet presents an incredible triple bill with stunning pieces from William Forsythe, Hans van Manen and Pina Bausch.

    Latest Videos