Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 Winners

Mumbai invited Bollywood and television stars for the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016. Find out who won what here.

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 Winners

“It's an honour to be with many renowned people from the film industry"

Mumbai’s glittering Bollywood stars gathered for the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards on April 25, 2016.

The prestigious awards held in honour of the ‘Father of Indian Cinema’, Dadasaheb Phalke, celebrated the stars of the film and television industry in India.

Hosted by television personality Rohit Roy, chief guest of the evening was industrialist Shri Ratan Tata.

The renowned Indian businessman was pleased to be there, saying: “It’s an honour to be the part of such a great night and to be with many renowned people from the film industry.”

Mr Tata handed out a number of awards during the course of the evening. Including ‘Best Supporting Actress’ to Shabana Azmi for her role in Neerja, plus the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award to actress Kamini Kaushal.

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 Winners

Musical legend, Bappi Lahiri also received the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award. The enigmatic personality, famous for bringing disco to Bollywood, said:

“It’s really a great honour to get Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award and I love it. I want to thank Sooraj Barjatya and Rajkumar Barjatya who was always there for me.”

Young Bollywood stars, Athiya Shetty and Sooraj Pancholi received the ‘Best Pair Debut’ award. Athiya Shetty shone in a turquoise patterned sari. A dapper Sooraj later said:

“I want to thank Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award for giving me this award and I promise to make this worth it every time.”

Many other inspiring individuals were honoured for their incredible talents and their endless contribution to the film and television industry.

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 Winners

Of them included lyricist Amitabh Bhattacharya, who won the award for ‘Best Lyrics’ for the blockbuster Dilwale. Filmmaker Sooraj Barjatya won ‘Best Memorable Film’ for Prem Ratan Dhan Payo, while Shoojit Sircar won the ‘Best Director’ award for Piku.

TV’s Indrani Krishnan won ‘Best Actress’ and Sameer Dharmadhikari took the award for ‘Best Actor’.

Here is the full list of winners of the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016:

Best Supporting Actress
Shabana Azmi (Neerja)

Best Actor Male
Sikander Kher (Tere Bin Laden- Dead or Alive)

Best Memorable Film
Sooraj Barjatya (Prem Ratan Dhan Payo)

Best Actress
Richa Chaddha (Masaan)

Best R.J.
Annu Kapoor

Best Actress Female TV
Indira Krishnan

Best Actor Male TV
Sameer Dharmadhikari

Best Supporting Actor
Deepak Dobriyal (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Director
Shoojit Sircar (Piku)

Best Lyrics
Amitabh Bhattacharya (Dilwale)

Best Music
Pritam (Dilwale)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Kamini Kaushal

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bappi Lahiri

Best Singer Female
Palak Muchhal

Best Producer TV
Rashmi Sharma

Best Actor Stage
Swaraj Singh

Best Pair Debut
Sooraj Pancholi & Athiya Shetty

Best Photographer
Amit Khanna

Best International News Agency
Satish Reddy

Best Choreographer
Ganesh Acharya

Best Cosmetic
Jayshree Mirchandani

Social Services in Medical
Dr Saravanan Lakshmanan & Dr Mahalakshmi Saravanan

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 Winners

The Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016 was a brilliant night celebrating the achievements of great Indian talent in the film and television industry.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Nazhat is an ambitious 'Desi' woman with interests in news and lifestyle. As a writer with a determined journalistic flair, she firmly believes in the motto "an investment in knowledge pays the best interest," by Benjamin Franklin.

What's New



  • Polls

    Which Football game do you play most?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...