The IIFA 2023 Technical Awards Winners

The IIFA 2023 Technical Awards winners were announced, celebrating the best technical aspects of Bollywood films.

The IIFA 2023 Technical Awards Winners f

It received critical acclaim for its themes

IIFA 2023 is officially underway with the Technical Awards winners being announced.

The nine categories of Technical Awards included Cinematography, Screenplay, Dialogue, Choreography, Sound Design, Editing, Special Effects (Visuals), Background Score and Sound Design.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Gangubai Kathiawadi led the way with three award wins.

Other winners included Anees Bazmee’s horror comedy, Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2.

Released in 2022, Gangubai Kathiawadi starred Alia Bhatt and is loosely based on the true story of Ganga Jagjivandas Kathiawadi, popularly known as Gangubai Kothewali, whose life was documented in the book Mafia Queens of Mumbai written by S Hussain Zaidi.

The film depicted the rise of a simple girl from Kathiawad who had no choice but to embrace the ways of destiny and swing it in her favour.

It received critical acclaim for its themes, direction, production value and Alia’s performance.

On the other hand, Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2 is a stark contrast.

The horror comedy stars Kartik Aaryan, Kiara Advani and Tabu.

A standalone sequel to the 2007 film, the film follows Ruhaan Randhawa (Kartik), who has to pretend to be a fraud psychic to deal with the return of Manjulika, a malevolent spirit hell-bent on vengeance against the Thakur family.

The film ended up becoming the fourth-highest grossing Hindi film of 2022, with only Brahmastra: Part One – Shiva, Drishyam 2 and The Kashmir Files grossing more worldwide.

Check out the full list of the IIFA 2023 Technical Awards winners:

Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterjee: Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Screenplay
Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Utkarshini Vashishtha: Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Dialogue
Utkarshini Vashishtha, Prakash Kapadia: Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Choreography
Bosco-Caesar: Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2

Best Sound Design
Mandar Kulkarni: Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2

Best Editing
Sandeep Francis: Drishyam 2

Best Special Effects (Visual)
DNEG, Redefine: Brahmastra: Part One – Shiva

Best Background Score
Sam CS: Vikram Vedha

Best Sound Mixing
Gunjan A Sah, Boloy Kumar Doloi, Rahul Karpe: Monica O My Darling

The IIFA Technical Awards marks the countdown to the biggest celebration of Indian cinema.

IIFA is scheduled to take place at Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, on May 26-27, 2023.

It will be hosted by Vicky Kaushal and Abhishek Bachchan.

As well as presenting prestigious awards, there will be live performances from the likes of Salman Khan, Varun Dhawan, Jacqueline Fernandez, Rakul Preet Singh, Nora Fatehi and many more.

Meanwhile, IIFA Rocks will be hosted by Karan Johar and Farah Khan.

The event will feature live performances by Amit Trivedi, Badshah, Sunidhi Chauhan, Nucleya, Mika Singh and Sukhbir.

Dhiren is a journalism graduate with a passion for gaming, watching films and sports. He also enjoys cooking from time to time. His motto is to “Live life one day at a time.”

  • What's New

  • Polls

    Which of these are you?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...