• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • "Quoted"

  • Polls

    Do you agree with Inter-Caste Marriage?

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Winners of the Punjabi Film Awards 2014

    After premiering in 2011, the PTC Punjabi Film Awards have become an annual event in the industry’s calendar. With electric performances all round, the 2014 awards were full of humour, bhangra and Punjabi-style entertainment.

    Punjabi Film Awards

    Jazzy B won Best Debut Male and Bollywood's Neha Dhupia won the award for Best Debut Female.

    The PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2014 went off with a bang with legendary performer Diljit Dosanjh alongside Binnu Dhillon and Arjan Bajwa as hosts for the night.

    Dosanjh lit up the Punjab venue with his creative wit and amazing performances especially with rising star Neeru Bajwa as they danced to some of their songs from Jatt and Juliet 2.

    Diljit certainly looked the part in a dapper black tuxedo and wooed the starry crowd with his charm. And Diljit had good reason to celebrate as his film Jatt and Juliet 2 swept the board in terms of awards, winning Best Movie, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Director.

    Punjabi Film Awards 2014The film which released in 2013 became one of the highest grossing Punjabi films ever and was a superhit internationally.

    Punjabi cinema has been growing at an incredible rate over the last decade or so. While it has always remained popular within the Punjab, it is now reaching out to much wider audiences in India and overseas, and is one of the fastest growing language cinemas in the country.

    Punjabi cinema has also integrated much more with Bollywood, with leading actors appearing in both film industries.

    One of the latter films of 2013 was Gippy Grewal’s Bhaji in Problem which featured Akshay Kumar. Bollywood is also becoming a regular concurrence on awards night as well, with some notables also arrived to the Punjab to wish their acting peers well.

    Punjabi Film Awards 2014Dharmendra honoured the establishment with his presence and he congratulated the growth of the industry so far. A regular face in Punjabi cinema, he is also starring in Subhash Ghai’s debut Punjabi production, Double Di Trouble.

    Vivek Oberoi, Mika and Neil Nitin Mukesh also made an appearance on stage, and Mika even took the award for Entertainer of the Year.

    Jazzy B won Best Debut Male and Bollywood’s Neha Dhupia won the award for Best Debut Female for her role in Rangeelay.

    While much of the Punjabi industry came out to celebrate for the evening, there were a few famous faces that were missing from both the crowd and the stage.

    In particular, Gippy Grewal, who performed at the previous year’s ceremony was nowhere to be seen. This was a surprise for many as he released an impressive four films in 2013. Another non-attendee was Yo Yo Honey Singh who was rumoured to perform alongside Mika.

    Neeru Bajwa won Best Actress and she notably thanked her Director Manmohan Singh for bringing her from Canada to the Punjabi film industry.

    Punjabi Film Awards

    Here are the winners of the PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2014:

    Lifetime Achievement Award
    Shri Guggu Gill Ji

    Critics Award for Best Actress
    Dhriti Saharan for Sadda Haq

    Critics Award for Best Actor
    Kuljinder Singh Sidhu for Sadda Haq

    Promising Actor of the Year
    Roshan Prince

    Entertainer Of The Year

    Best Performance in a Comic Role
    B N Sharma for Fer Mamla Gadbad Gadbad and Binnu Dhillon for Tu Mera 22 Main Tera 22

    Best Story
    Amitoj Mann for Haani

    Best Actress
    Neeru Bajwa for Jatt n Juliet 2

    Best Director
    Anurag Singh for Jatt n Juliet 2

    Best Debut Director
    Simranjit Singh Hundal for Jatt Boys Putt Jattan De

    Best Debut (Male)
    Jazzy B for Best Of Luck

    Best Debut (Female)
    Neha Dhupia for Rangeelay

    Best Supporting Actor
    Gurpreet Ghuggi for Bhaji In Problem

    Best Supporting Actress
    Upasna Singh for Daddy Cool Munde Fool

    Best Performance in a Negative Role
    Ashish Duggal for Haani

    Special Recognition Award
    Jimmy Sheirgill

    Best Film
    Jatt n Juliet 2

    Best Actor
    Diljit Dosanjh for Jatt n Juliet 2

    Best Playback Singer (Male)
    Kamal Khan for Dil De Varke from Fer Mamla Gadbad Gadbad

    Best Playback Singer (Female)
    Harshdeep Kaur for Tang Sajan Di from Naughty Jatts

    Best Dialogues
    Amberdeep Singh for Daddy Cool Munde Fool

    Best Cinematography
    Toby Gorman for Best Of Luck

    Best Editing
    Manish More for Love Story of Singh Vs Kaur

    Best Background Score
    Jaidev Kumar for Haani

    Best Screenplay
    Kuljinder Singh Sidhu for Sadda Haq

    Best Lyricist
    Babu Singh Mann for Taang Sajna Di from Haani

    Best Music Director
    Jaggi Singh for Fer Mamla Gadbad Gadbad

    Most Popular Song of the Year
    Wakh from Tu Mera 22 Main Tera 22

    The PTC Punjabi Film Awards 2014 was an entertaining evening of comedy, dance and celebration. Congratulations to all of the winners.

    Aisha an English literature graduate, is a keen editorial writer. She adores reading, theatre, and anything arts related. She is a creative soul and is always reinventing herself. Her motto is: “Life is too short, so eat dessert first!”


    Weekend Fashion: Shahid, Kriti and Khushi are Stylish & Trendy

    Check out DESIblitz’s top picks of weekend fashion. Gaze upon amazing styles from Shahid Kapoor, Kriti Sanon, Khushi Kapoor and more!

    Latest Videos