The Asian Football Awards 2015 Nominees

The 3rd Asian Football Awards will take place at Wembley Stadium on November 19, 2015. See the full list of shortlisted nominees here.

The Asian Football Awards 2015 Nominees

“We are glad that we have been able to put the spotlight on some very inspirational people."

The 3rd annual Asian Football Awards (AFA) have announced their shortlisted candidates for 2015.

Celebrating the incredible sporting talent of Asian across the UK, the Asian Football Awards once again recognises key individuals in all sectors of football.

In association with Inventive Sports, the AFA will be held at Wembley Stadium, the home of football on November 19, 2015.

Supported by The Football Association (FA) and The Asian Football Project, the glitzy evening will be hosted by passionate football fan, DJ Noreen Khan.

Now in its third consecutive year, the AFA celebrates key achievement of players at both grassroots level and professional stage.

Judging them will be the likes of Jermain Defoe (Sunderland AFC and England), Steve Coppell (ex-Manchester United FC, Crystal Palace FC, Reading FC and England), and Graeme Le Saux (ex-Chelsea FC and England), among others.

The Asian Football Awards 2015 Nominees

CEO of Inventive Sports, Baljit Rihal, says: “Much has occurred in the two years since the last awards with regard to Asians in football in the UK.

“We are glad that we have been able to put the spotlight on some very inspirational people and to watch them shine has been an absolute pleasure.

“However, there is still much work to be done, as progress in increasing Asian representation across the industry has been far too slow.

“Our hope is that these awards will once again raise the Asians in football debate in the mainstream media and that influential organisations make a concerted effort to help rectify this longstanding imbalance.”

Chairman of The Football Association (FA) adds: “Congratulations to everyone connected with this year’s Asian Football Awards.

“It is a timely reminder of some of the wonderful work being done at both grassroots level and in the professional game, in Asian communities right across the country.

“I’m delighted that The FA’s Asian inclusion plan is helping to raise the profile of some of the work you’ll hear about at the event itself and that Wembley is the setting for this important event.”

The Asian Football Awards 2015 Nominees

Key nominations include Danny Batth, Neil Taylor and Adil Nabi who are all competing for the ‘Payer Award’

The ‘Inspiration Award’ sees key organisations from the community shortlisted, including the Zesh Rehman Foundation, Jasbir Batt of the Birmingham FA, and Mohammed Zafran of All 4 Youth CIC.

Also recognising the growing trend of Asian women in football, the ‘Women in Football Award’ features the likes of Monica Sharma, Sabah Mahmood, Tanvie Hans and Aditi Chauhan.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 3rd Asian Football Awards 2015:

Danny Batth (Wolves)
Neil Taylor (Swansea City FC/Wales)
Adil Nabi (West Bromwich/Delhi Dynamos)

Monica Sharma (Fulham FC Ladies)
Sabah Mahmood (London Bari FC)
Tanvie Hans (Fulham FC Ladies)
Aditi Chauhan (West Ham Ladies)

Samir Nabi (West Bromwich Albion)
Easah Suliman (Aston Villa FC/England)
Yan Dhanda (Liverpool FC/England)

Yunus Lunat (FA/Liverpool Supporters Committee)
Anwar Uddin (Football Supporters Federation)
Harpreet Robertson (The FA)

Harj Singh (FA Skills Coach Bedfordshire)
Manisha Tailor (CEO Swaggarlicious)
Pav Singh (Coach Developer – FA)

Jev Siva (Grays Athletic FC)
Jasbir Singh (Gloucester City FC)
Gurjit Singh (Kidderminster Harriers FC)

Maya Yoshida (Southampton FC/Japan)
Ji So-yun (Chelsea FC Ladies/South Korea)
Ki Sung-Yueng (Swansea City FC/South Korea)

Imrul Gazi (Sporting Bengal/BFA)
Bobby Mudhar (Bedfordshire County FA)
Khalsa Football Federation
Mesba Ahmed (London Tigers)

Zesh Rehman Foundation
Jasbir Batt (Birmingham FA)
Football for Peace – Kashif Siddiqui Foundation
Mohammed Zafran (All 4 Youth CIC)

MK Gallacticos (Milton Keynes)
GNG FC Leicester (Leicester)
Sporting Khalsa (West Midlands)
AHF FC (Blackburn)

Seema Jaswal (Star Sports)
Reshmin Chowdhury (BT Sport/BBC Sport)
Dharmesh Sheth (Sky Sports News)

With such an incredible shortlist, the Asian Football Awards promises stiff competition from a range of talented sporting individuals both on and off the pitch.

The 3rd Asian Football Awards 2015 will take place at Wembley Stadium on November 19, 2015.

Good luck to all the nominees!

Aisha is an editor and a creative writer. Her passions include music, theatre, art and reading. Her motto is “Life is too short, so eat dessert first!”

Images courtesy of Asian Football Awards and Matthew Childs

  • What's New



  • Polls

    Do you agree with Amaan Ramazan giving away babies?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Share to...