• What's New

  • Like DESIblitz.com on Facebook - click here
  • DESIblitz.com winner of Asian Media Award 2013 & 2015
  • Polls

    Should Sex Education be Based on Culture?

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Brit Asia TV Music Awards Winners

    The Brit Asia TV Music Awards 2010 ceremony was held in Birmingham on 2nd May 2010 giving a boost to the British Asian and International music scene. Awards were given to popular names like Jay Sean, Jaz Dhami and Miss Pooja on the night.

    Jaz Dhami won Best Male

    Brit Asia TV celebrated British Asian music with its awards at Symphony Hall in Birmingham, UK, on 2nd May 2010. A star studded night with many big names especially from the Bhangra music industry were present at the show. The night of the awards was hosted by comedian and actor, Hardeep Singh Kholi.

    Performances by the old-school acts of Bhangra for many stole the show. Including appearances on stage by Balwinder Safri, Azaad, Apna Sangeet and Heera to name a few. The major new name that won the hearts of many screaming girls was of course, Jaz Dhami, the sensational new artist with noticeable vocal ability. And of course, heart-throb H Dhami had female audiences raising up to his appearance on stage.

    Brit Asia TV was launched in April 2008 with the aim to produce and air shows to promote British Asian culture and entertainment. The awards ceremony is part of that programme. Brit Asia TV on Sky Channel 833 is the only entertainment television channel targeting all generations of Asians within the UK and Europe. The awards will be broadcasted on the channel in the near future.

    Brit Asia TV director, Sheila Nakra said,

    “It is important that we recognise the hard work from all of the artists across the British Asian music scene fairly.”

    The voting for the Brit Asia TV music awards was conducted by a public vote via the awards website and text voting. Determined to make the voting as fair as possible, Sheila said, “We achieved this perfectly by the open public web vote where the winners were chosen by the public. Web votes were collected, verified and counted by an independent adjudicator via www.britasiamusicawards.com. Having spoken to the artists it was this feature of our award ceremony that made the difference.”

    Nominee Jay Sean was up for six categories on the night and Jaz Dhami for four categories. Jay Sean won Best Urban Act and Best Single. Jaz Dhami won Best Male. The night recognised music producer and singer, Sukshinder Shinda, who bagged two awards for Best Producer and Best Video. Imran Khan deservedly won Best Album for Unforgettable, JK won Best Newcomer and Miss Pooja once again stole the limelight for Best Female.

    Here is the final list of the winners of the Brit Asia TV Music Awards 2010:

    Best Album
    Imran Khan (Unforgettable)

    Best Single
    Jay Sean (Down)

    Best Male Act
    Jaz Dhami

    Best Female Act
    Miss Pooja

    Best Band

    Best Urban Act
    Jay Sean

    Best DJ
    DJ H

    Best Newcomer

    Best Producer
    Sukshinder Shinda

    Best Urban Asian
    Mumzy Stranger

    Best International Artist
    Babbu Mann

    Best Alternative Act
    Shiva Sound System

    Best Video
    Sukshinder Shinda (Ghum Sum)

    Outstanding Achievement
    Malkit Singh

    Lifetime Achievement
    AS Kang

    Jas likes to keep in touch with the world of music and entertainment by writing about it. He does like hitting the gym too. His motto is 'The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a person's determination.'


    Aaradhya's Upbringing is 'Normal' says Aishwarya Rai Bachchan

    Since her glamorous appearance at Cannes 2017, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan has spoken about daughter Aaradhya’s upbringing, claiming it’s “normal.”

    Latest Videos